Mustard algae

Jun 22, 2014
Owasso, OK
I recently posted about my SWG failure and how I was having to slam my pool for the first time. In reading about mustard algae I got concerned because I have noticed brown stuff off and on especially where the steps meet the wall but I got the impression it wasn't that common and my pool is in full sun most of the day. Anyway I finished the slamming process and installed the new SWG setting it on 20% as the old one had been After 2 days The fc was only 5 so I upped it to 40%. Today the fc was only at 3.5 and with goggles I could see brown spots pretty much all over the pool bottom. I feel sure now that it is that dreaded mustard algae. It is fiberglass pool and I have to admit I am not good at brushing as I am a youthful but not too strong 60 something woman so I am thinking I may just have to call a pool service but know they will want to follow pool store procedures and I am a TFP follower. I am worried about new SWG I upped it to 80 % after seeing that this evening but know I have to do something quick. Could use some guidance please.

Give us some recent test results. Are you keeping FC above minimum at all times? Will the pool pass an Overnight Chlorine Loss Test? More here on out mustard algae, Pool School - Mustard Algae