Algae sticks around

Jul 7, 2016
Lexington, SC
I am new with an AGP and had mustard algae as I don't quite understand the reagents and what does what. I have attempted to start the BBB method as I could not get rid of the algae by shocking, I started during the day at first, and everytime I would vacuum ever so slowly it would simply cloud up. I ran my pump 24 hours, still cloudy, used Algaecide 60, nothing worked. I have a simple 16' Intex pool, with an Intex 2400 pump, change filters almost daily. I have the feeling it is simply reciculating as the Intex pump does not have a waste option unless I simply un-screw the lid and let everything I vacuum run out on the ground.
Yesterday I bought an Intex Salt water chlorinator and drained my pool and figured to start over completely. I also ordered an Intex Sand Filter 3000, which will be here tomorrow. The pool drained to the 4" mark and stopped due to the fool that installed it put the drain on the side that is slightly raised. It is 100 degrees out and the last time I drained it, it took 3 hours of a wetvac and buckets by hand. I was not going to do that today.
I let everything settle then took a gander to see how much sediment is still on the bottom. Not a lot but enough to irritate me.
Now, finally my question, will the salt water chlorinator get rid of the remaining algae or should I drain the pool and burn it?

Draining is the quickest fix for a small pool. You really need a good test kit and ignore the pool store, the test kits listed here are a good deal. Pool school is a must read, multiple times. Take notes on chlorine, PH and CYA levels.