Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Raising CYA with pucks??

  1. Back To Top    #1
    new2pools's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Hampton Roads/Virginia
    Posts
    180

    Raising CYA with pucks??

    Okay, so I added Stabilizer last week and don't think I had quite enough left to do much as it doesn't seem to be raised any. (per test today)

    Can I use Tri-chlor pucks in the skimmer to raise it?? I have a bucket of those I bought before I came here and learned BBB. How many should I use?

    Thanks!

    Oh, my cya is still coming up as around 25.
    27' Round AGP, 17200 GAL, 2 HP/2 SPD Pump/Cartridge Filter.......BBB!

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Guest
    The pucks will help raise your CYA but I would NOT put them in the skimmer. They are very acidic and can damage pumps and cartridge filters if used in the skimmer. Get a floater and put them in that!

  3. Back To Top    #3
    new2pools's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Hampton Roads/Virginia
    Posts
    180
    Well isn't that sweet?? I was told at the pool store to have 2 of those things in my skimmer at all times. Sooo glad I didn't listen to them and started immediately on BBB. Anyway, thanks for the info.....I'll get one of those floaters then.
    27' Round AGP, 17200 GAL, 2 HP/2 SPD Pump/Cartridge Filter.......BBB!

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    924
    Seems to me that I've read several times in here that it can take a while for the CYA to show up in your drop tests, I'm thinking a week.
    Buggs

    14,000 gallon, in ground, plaster, free form, play pool.
    Sta-Rite Max-E-Glass with a 1.5 hp Emerson motor
    WaterCo Micron High Rate sand filter S750 490 lb, 4883 sq ft - using ZeoBest
    In floor Polaris cleaning system
    Blue Diamond robot for those after storm days when I can't wait overnight for the in floor to clean it.

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    San Rafael, CA USA
    Posts
    12,085
    Just to give the pool store a little credit, if you put pucks in the skimmer and kept your pump running at all times (24/7) and ensured you didn't get a power outage, then they should dissolve slowly enough to not be too acidic. Of course, they probably didn't tell you to keep the pump running and that's where they are seriously at fault.

    Also, there are "Smart Sticks" from BioGuard that are designed to be put into the skimmer even if the pump isn't always running. Presumably, they do not dissolve unless there is water flow. I can't vouch for them. It would be interesting for someone to have them in a skimmer, have the pump off, then measure the pH in the skimmer after 16 hours of possible pump "off" time.

    Anyway, waterbear's advice is correct, you do not normally put in Trichlor pucks into the skimmer, but I wanted to give more info about that. I had a thermometer corrode in my skimmer due to Trichlor pucks (and who knows what my heater looks like), but I didn't keep my pump running all the time (I only did this once) -- this was before I learned about pool water chemistry and started viewing the Pool Forum. We were all newbies once.

    Richard
    16,000 gallon outdoor in-ground 16'x32' plaster pool; Pentair Intelliflo VF pump; Pentair IntelliTouch i9+3s control system; Jandy CL-340 square foot cartridge filter
    12 Fafco solar panels; Purex Triton PowerMax 250 natural gas heater (200,000 BTU/hr output); automatic electric pool safety cover; 4-wheel pressure-side "The Pool Cleaner"

  6. Back To Top    #6
    I have used the Bioguard smart sticks (to get my CYA up) - They do go into the skimmer and there has to be flow for them to dissolve (When used in a floater they take forever to dissolve)
    SW Connecticut
    18,000 Gal Freeform
    Gunite/White plaster

  7. Back To Top    #7
    new2pools's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Hampton Roads/Virginia
    Posts
    180
    Quote Originally Posted by Buggsw
    Seems to me that I've read several times in here that it can take a while for the CYA to show up in your drop tests, I'm thinking a week.
    Yep, it's been about a week since I added. I waited because I had read that before.

    Thanks everyone. I have been running my pump 24/7 .... sometimes (when I remember) I cut it off during the night and back on in the morning though.
    27' Round AGP, 17200 GAL, 2 HP/2 SPD Pump/Cartridge Filter.......BBB!

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Spring Hill, FL
    Posts
    29
    just a thought, I did the floater thing for a while never realizing that I had an in-line chlorine thing
    maybe it is possible you have one or can after market install one?

    Just a thought
    14K Gallon IG Diamond Brite Finish
    24SF DE Filter

  9. Back To Top    #9
    new2pools's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Hampton Roads/Virginia
    Posts
    180
    Ya know, I do have this thing on the side where you put Baquacil water softner (or something or other) tablets in. It is down the pipe on the other side from the main cartridge.....basically the next thing closest to the water spout in the pool (what is that called where the water shoots into the pool....I forget!) Anyway, can I put them in there I wonder?

    (FYI, I have a Baquacil pump, etc, because that is what the company I bought from (Rec Warehouse) promotes, etc....I don't use the junk though)
    27' Round AGP, 17200 GAL, 2 HP/2 SPD Pump/Cartridge Filter.......BBB!

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    924
    How much stabilizer did you add and how did you apply it?
    Buggs

    14,000 gallon, in ground, plaster, free form, play pool.
    Sta-Rite Max-E-Glass with a 1.5 hp Emerson motor
    WaterCo Micron High Rate sand filter S750 490 lb, 4883 sq ft - using ZeoBest
    In floor Polaris cleaning system
    Blue Diamond robot for those after storm days when I can't wait overnight for the in floor to clean it.

  11. Back To Top    #11
    new2pools's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Hampton Roads/Virginia
    Posts
    180
    I had a 6 lb bucket and had first put in about 5 lbs (per the pool co. when I started the pool) so I should have had about 1 lb left. That is what I put in the pool. I poured it in a sock and tied it in front of the return. (where the water shoots out....that is what that is called I think?)

    So do you think I can put the the trichlor tabs in that bucket thing I described above?
    27' Round AGP, 17200 GAL, 2 HP/2 SPD Pump/Cartridge Filter.......BBB!

  12. Back To Top    #12
    new2pools's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Hampton Roads/Virginia
    Posts
    180
    Ya know, I do have this thing on the side where you put Baquacil water softner (or something or other) tablets in. It is down the pipe on the other side from the main cartridge.....basically the next thing closest to the water spout in the pool (what is that called where the water shoots into the pool....I forget!) Anyway, can I put them in there I wonder?
    So do you think I can put the the trichlor tabs in that bucket thing I described above?
    So, can I? Anyone know?? I can take a pic and post it if that would help.

    Thanks
    27' Round AGP, 17200 GAL, 2 HP/2 SPD Pump/Cartridge Filter.......BBB!

  13. Back To Top    #13
    new2pools's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Hampton Roads/Virginia
    Posts
    180
    Hmmmmmm, k, guessing noone knows the answer. Back to the floaty thing then.
    27' Round AGP, 17200 GAL, 2 HP/2 SPD Pump/Cartridge Filter.......BBB!

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Spring Hill, FL
    Posts
    29
    Sorry I have been away, not sure of that pump. Can you see if it has a dial where
    a small hose feeds into it that has settings off/on 1-5 settings??
    14K Gallon IG Diamond Brite Finish
    24SF DE Filter

  15. Back To Top    #15
    I would guess that the baqua feeder would not be compatible with the tri-chlor feeders.

    What is your CYA now? Maybe you are good to go! Save your pucks for vacation or something, or sell them to some poor unsuspecting soul

    RETURN is the word you are searching for! where the water 'returns' to the pool!

    8000 gallon 20' x 48" round vinyl frame pool, 12" sand filter (don't have the specs on the pump), TF100 test kit
    Handy Links: PoolMath, TF-100 Test Kit, Pool School, CYA-Chlorine Chart
    "Shock" is a process, not a product!

  16. Back To Top    #16
    new2pools's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Hampton Roads/Virginia
    Posts
    180
    Here are some pics.....I'm thinking no because it has a warning onthe side that I didnt' see before that says use water polishing disks. Which I assume means nothing else but that.??




    The water goes through there before entering the pool again through the return.
    27' Round AGP, 17200 GAL, 2 HP/2 SPD Pump/Cartridge Filter.......BBB!

  17. Back To Top    #17

    In the Industry
    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    28,392
    New2pools,

    If it were my pool, I would be more concerned about the current CYA level than a delivery method for adding more. If you've added the 6 lbs of CYA, your test should indicate 40+ppm. That would be enough for me, at first, and I would not be in a hurry to add more to the pool thru the use of pucks.

    Using the baqua device may work fine or it may allow the pucks to dissolve too quickly running your CYA up to a point where it will be extremely difficult to deal with....proceed with caution.
    Dave S. - Forum owner
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  18. Back To Top    #18
    new2pools's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Hampton Roads/Virginia
    Posts
    180
    Sorry to confuse. I had a 6 lb bucket when the pool was first put up in May. I put about 5 lbs in at that time. (May) My CYA level was around 35 after that but I guess through evaporation and splash out has gone down to about 25. I put in what was left in that bucket which should of been around 1 lb. So 1 lb is all I've put in recently. My CYA didn't seem to budge with that addition so that was why I was thinking of going to the pucks next.
    I have a whole bucket of them (bought just before I started BBB) so I thought I'd just use those to raise CYA level back up to 40 or so.

    So, if my CYA level is at 25 how many pucks do you think I need to raise to around 40 or so?
    27' Round AGP, 17200 GAL, 2 HP/2 SPD Pump/Cartridge Filter.......BBB!

  19. Back To Top    #19

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    71
    CYA does not diminish through evaporation. Just backwash and splash out. Where did you buy your CYA from?
    Location: Atlanta, Georgia.
    Pool: 15,000 gallon 32'x18', 3'-6' deep in-ground gunite pool, Sta-Rite 3 125 GPM 2-filter cartrige, 1.5 HP Sta-Rite pump, solar heater, Goldline SWG, Jandy controls, opaque automatic CoverStar solar pool cover, 3 waterfalls (not from spa).
    Spa: 485 gallon in-ground square acrylic over fiberglass suspended over gunite Sunset brand spa, isolated system, natural gas heater, 2-speed (4hp/11hp) main pump, 3hp booster pump, chlorine sanitized.

    To my pool store owner, nothing is more important than my pool and my money.

    Richard's PoolEquations Spreadsheet

  20. Back To Top    #20
    new2pools's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Hampton Roads/Virginia
    Posts
    180
    From our local pool store. I forget the brand now. It was their main brand they carried though.

    Evaporation, I meant we've had to add water several times now when the pool water has evaporated (or splashed out too some I suppose) which I'm thinking would lower the CYA some since it would be more diluted.
    27' Round AGP, 17200 GAL, 2 HP/2 SPD Pump/Cartridge Filter.......BBB!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •