Removing DE From Pool

Jun 22, 2016
Fairfax, VA
Hi everyone! Let me start out by saying that I am new to pools and have been researching as much as I can. I've reached the point where I feel like I've learned a lot but need to ask for some help regarding an issue I'm having.

A little background: I "inherited" the maintenance of my in-laws neglected pool. They have been opening, treating, and closing it every year, but have paid little attention to ongoing maintenance or proper procedures.

Long story short, the grids on the DE filter were damaged and I have a lot of DE in our pool water. If I run the automatic vacuum it stirs it up and makes the water extremely cloudy. If I let it settle for a day or so the water clears but there is a large amount settled on the bottom of the pool. My water tests show that all of my chemical levels are fine, the only problem I have is the sediment in the pool.

Yesterday (6/21) I had the grids of the DE filter professionally replaced and charged and now I am wondering what is the best way to go about getting the sediment out of the pool? Brushing? Vacuuming? Or do I need to drain the pool completely? (<--I really don't want to do this).

If it's helpful, here are a few pictures and stats:

Wide View of the Pool
Oyny2L2.jpg

Sediment on the Bottom 1

xwv2hiq.jpg

Sediment on the Bottom 2
fIzuzQq.jpg

Filter (FNS 60 Plus)

nl8idyU.jpg

Returns

3rYbz1E.jpg

Thanks in advance for any and all help. Also, if I posted this in the wrong section of the forum I apologize.

That automatic vacuum I saw in your picture won't do the trick (as you've stated).... get a pool pole with a vacuum head and vacuum the bottom directly out to waste. Here's the steps:
1. Turn everything off and let D.E. settle at the bottom
2. With the system still off, gently put your manual vacuum head (that is attached to the pole) and vacuum hose into the pool (make sure all air is out of the vac hose)... plug the other end of your hose into your skimmer.