Bronze Supporter
Jun 4, 2016
Marengo/IL
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
IMG_4504.jpgI'm new to TFP and have a new AGP.

I've read all that I can find on TFP about adding muriatic acid to my above ground pool and I'm a little freaked out by the warnings. Don't wan to burn my skin or inhale the fumes or damage my liner.

The TA first rated at 380 upon filling new pool. Added chlorine and stabilizer.

TK-100 results yesterday

Cl - .5
pH - 7.5
FC - 2
Calcium - 350
TA - 350
CYA - 0

Today added 3 cups, 3 oz chlorine and only had 16 oz of stabilizer on hand. Calculator recommends adding 64 oz by weight.

What should I do next? Muriatic acid? More chlorine and more stabilizer?

Last edited:
I'm a newbie, too, but I offer my opinion because our new AGP is doing quite well while following TFPC. I've been reading a lot on this site, adhering to TFPC. The first thing I did with stabilizer/CYA=0, is add CYA with target of about 30ppm. Without CYA chlorine's pool life is measured in minutes because of degradation caused by sunlight exposure.

IMHO, getting your CYA up is first priority so can have some FC available for 24 hrs.

This Chlorine/CYA Chart is very helpful to me.

Hopefully others will chime in.

Worry about MA a bit later; your pH is pretty good. My pH was >8.0 initially. MA is a bit wicked but quite doable. Both my wife and I wear nitrile gloves and safety glasses when using it. Simply respect MA, and everything will be fine.

Get your CYA up.

Also add the brand and model of your test kit to your signature, please.

Your pH is at 7.5 which is near perfect, also your CYA stabilizer is slightly acidic, so why would you want to add Muriatic acid?

Total alkalinity is extremely high so I thought muriatic acid was the recommended choice. Is there another option?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk