Just got my test kit... are these numbers right?! Help!!

Jun 9, 2016
Newburgh NY
My pool was a green swamp on Monday. After being "pool stored" for a few hundred dollars, I added bleach and brushed/vacuumed daily. It's no longer green, but cloudy in the deep end. My T100 arrived today and I got the following results. It seems like something is way off...

Using the the little blue kit:
Total chlorine- the color was a red/orange and didn't match any of the options
Bromine- same for this (I assume one sample shows both since its in the same column)
PH- 6.8

Alkalinity- it went from blue to yellow with 6-7 drops so 650?
CYA- 100
Calcium Hardness- pink to blue with 35 drops so 875?
FC- after 30 drops the sample was still hot pink. It didn't get clear.

Im a total newbie at this, but either I've made some testing errors or these numbers seem way off. Any help would really be appreciated!!

I retested the CYA and still see 100. Concerned it was even higher, I tested a sample of half pool water and half water from my house and it came up at 50.

last wknd the pool store had me add calcium, ph increaser, and alkalinity and to shock with the packs of granules and the pool was still green until I came to this site. I'm worried I will have to drain my pool. I definitely need some guidance. Thanks!!

i should also mention that I just started getting air bubbles and spurring from the return jets a few days ago. Checked for leaks and changed the basket o ring and still there is air.

Last edited:
Each drop of the alkalinity test is 10 ppm, not 100, so your TA is 70 (if the 7th drop made any change to the color at all then it is 70). Your Calcium test calculation is correct though, and yes that is high. The pH test is not reliable when your FC is above 10 so ignore that for now. There was no reason for you to stop testing your FC, it can measure up to 50 and you stopped at 15.