pH and Ak low cloudy water - Arm&Hammer?

Aug 16, 2007
Test numbers from this morning are as follows:

FC 14.6 (shocked last night w/ 22gallons of 6%)
CC 0
pH 6.8
TA 140 for red 120 for pink

Hi Everyone,
Hoffmans here, from Bens Forum at PoolSolutions.
This is my first time posting over here.
Thank you to all the oldtimers over there. Dennis, Matt 4x4, MWMmom, Al, ChemGeek, CarlD, WaterBear and so many more.

All has been well these past few years pool wise and water wise.
Will post a pick soon if anyone is interested in viewing the end of the saga of our pool & deck build.

Water was green this spring.
Been working & working to get it clear.
Got rid of the green but has been cloudy for weeks.
It is cloudy blue now- Still !!
I suspect lots of dead algae in there.?

I think I need to increase my pH and TA.
Do I use Super Washing Soda for the pH AND Baking soda for the TA? Or do I just up the pH and see if the TA rises on its own?
I have 5 boxes of this: Each box is 55oz (3Lb 7oz)
How do i figure out how much Super washing soda "pH up" to use?

phup.jpg

Our pool is 33' round above ground.
Roughly 26,000gallons
Sand filter- 2speed pump.
Robo-Kleen
Pool Skim

These Pictures are from summer '08.
Still working on the deck this spring.

poollongshot1.jpg

poollongshot.jpg

yikes those are some big pictures.
sorry about that

Welcome to TFP!

I was never a member of Ben's site. You are right though, there are quite a few folks here at TFP who were at one point.

Best tool to help you calculate you chem dosages is Jason's Pool Calculator. You'll see the link in my sig. Works great every time!

You probably want to wait to make pH adjustments until your FC get below 10 ppm. pH readings tend to be funny once you get above an FC of 10 and are usually not all that accurate.