somebody help me!!!!

Jun 15, 2016
marion/ohio
Hi! I am new to tfp.com, as well as a new pool owner, as well as new to the bbb method lol
i need help!
I have an 18x52 intex above ground. after filling it i began testing and trying to get chlorine to balance first. however after googling for days, i keep finding different steps/order to balance a pool. some sites say start w/alkalinity and get that balanced first, other say to balance ph first, then others say to get ph balanced then "slam" the pool. i was wondering if anyone can tell me what order do i start my pool chemical balancing???? im so overwhelmed w/all of this. i know things have to be tested to balance. but should i focus on one test/chemical at a time to balance?
heeeeeeeeelp!!!! any advice would be so appreciated.
thank you!
*starting to get sticky hot in ohio*:cool:

:wave: Welcome to TFP!!!

Step 1 is to post up all test results and what kit you used to get them.

Based on that, we can see what should be done first.

If it is a new fill, you should add 2ppm of FC with bleach immediately and get 30ppm of CYA dissolving. The rest is less important initially.

More importantly than adding chems is testing them. How are you testing now? You will get great advice here but you need to be able to test then accurately and not rely on the Pool store's inaccurate test or strips, which don't provide enough information to practice TFP. The chemical addition order is really dependent on the test results. I highly suggest spending $70 on a TF-100, i don't think you will regret it.

Since you have fresh tap water that is simplified somewhat. Right now you can get a cheap test kit to test FC and pH and get those in range. Next you can buy enough CYA to get to 30 ppm and hang that in a sock in front of your pool return. CH is pretty much irrelevant with a vinyl liner. TA can be dealt with later.

Post any questions and take a deep breath, you're in a good place here.