Pool Not Holding Chlorine

Jun 14, 2016
Orlando, FL
Greetings all,

I am a pool newbie and am having some issues. I hope it's something I'm not overlooking but I don't know where else to turn. Here is a synopsis. Pool was finished in November and everything has been fine until a couple of weeks ago.

Long story short. Things were all good. Had a pool party and things went downhill. Pool would not hold chlorine. Tested water, nada. Tested water at return line, nada. Figured out there was a phosphate issue. Did the phos treatment and put liquid chlorine in the pool as to not lose the pool. Pool would hold chlorine but it is gradually declining even though the generator is on 100% and or BOOST. Chlorine generator is working fine after performing a bucket test as per the manufacturer. Pool looks great. No algae or anything in the pool that I can see and the salt cell is clean as a whistle. Here are the readings on my pool as of today and Equipment being used.

Pool: 13,000 gallons
Pool Temp: 94-95 degrees (100% sunlight)
Chlorine Generator: SGS Breeze 540 (40,000 gallons)
FC: 1.5
pH: 7.6
Alk: 110
Stab: 60
Calcium: 375
Nitrate: 5
Phosphate: 300
Salt: 3500 (manufacturer states don't go under 3k but works best between 4k-4500)

I am just baffled as is every other pool store around here. Any ideas?

Ronnie

Hello Ronnie and welcome to TFP! :wave: TFP is all about 100% pool owner care which starts with your own testing. The pool store tests above really don't give us much to go on since they are most likely inaccurate. Not your fault, just the way they are most of the time. Your best bet is to acquire a TF-100 or Taylor K-2006C test kit. Please see the TF-100 link below for info.

Your water is most likely struggling due to low chlorine and not properly balanced with your CYA. To fix this you need to "SLAM" your pool (link below) using one of those recommended test kits to test FC at levels higher than most local stores sell.