Removing Pump & I Broke Mounting Bolt

Eric K.

Bronze Supporter
Apr 18, 2016
Hilo, HI
I wanted to remove my pump because I wanted to re-thread both the in & out connections (some drips, shorting out my motor. Background: pumping station is on slope below/beside pool; Gravity to pump works even with motor off). Removing pump was only way to unscrew the in, which has a glued 90 on the connection.

In process of removing pump, the anchor bolt broke. :brickwall: Here's a pic of mount and of the system (disregard drips in this old pic...issue resolved last month).

Question(s):

1. Can I just back out the motor, lift the housing off the mount in order to complete my rethread project, and NOT fix broken bolt?
OR
2. Do I need to fix this bolt, hope the 2nd doesn't break, then remove combined housing & motor to complete my rethread? If so, how do I do that...remove and replace broken bolt?

This is my first time on something like this (pipings and broken bolts), so any quick tips would be appreciated. I'm dreading calling the local pump/plumber company.

My FC was at 3.0 at sunset, and my minimum is 2.0, so it is rarity that I'm hoping for big, thick dark clouds tomorrow until I can get pump back on (which has been tripping off immediately all afternoon).

20160605_1854083_zpspse4bfrm.jpg

20160421_0849541_zps54bcuge2.jpg

Re: Removing Pump & I Broke Mounting Bolt

Most pumps are not anchored at all, the plumbing and gravity hold them in place. I would not be too concerned.

You can add bleach and brush the pool well to mix it.

OK, that eases my concerns!! I'll mix the pool up with bleach/brush to give me more time.

RE: re-threading the in/out, will taking the motor off allow me then to life off the pump housing to re-thread??