First Time Pool Owner with Green Water, Help!!!

Hello, I'm new to all of this and I'm afraid I might have messed up my pool water. After filling up my pool and starting out with clear water, I did a water test and discovered my PH was at 7.2, AK over 250, and Chlorene 0. I knew I need to drastically bring down my AK level to around 80-100 so I was planning on buying muriatic acid to accomplish this. In the meantime, I believe I made the mistake of thinking that I needed to get chlorene in the pool right away, so I added 1/3 cup of HTH Ultimate Mineral Brilliance Chlorinating Granules to my water. I walked away for 5 minutes and came back to a pool full of green water :( Now, I'm very confused on where to go from here. I know I probably need to focus on bringing down my AK level first in hopes that this will clear up my water. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, thanks so much!

Are you filling from a well?

The MSDS for those granules don't show any copper in it, so luckily we can rule that out.

But if there's Iron in your well water, it's common for it to go green when Chlorine hits it. Worst case, it looks like coffee, with ground settling out.

Your pH is fine at 7.2 so don't add any acid now. TA is the very last thing you worry about.

With a fresh fill and the right pH already, all you need is some chlorine and some stabilizer aka Cyanuric Acid aka CYA.

Are you filling from a well?

I think any product with "Mineral" in the title might have copper or silver in it and you should avoid it like the plague. I just don't trust them.

As Richard said-this product doesn't list copper <whew!>

Have you used an algaecide lately?

Yes, we did fill the pool from a well because I was under the impression that the Intex Sand Filter Pump we added to the pool was powerful enough to filter the well water better than the cheap pump the pool came with. Should I drain the pool and go a different route?? Thanks so much!