Little to no suction

Okay, so this is going to be long since I feel like I've tried EVERYTHING.

Firstly, I'm VERY new to pool ownership. I was recently gifted a 22' above ground Intex pool.
I was given very little else as far as information goes, and I've been picking up bits and pieces as I've troubleshooted.
I was told that the pump and filter I have for the pool are *more* than sufficient for the size of the pool. The pump is 1 HP, 115 Volts, 13.8 Amps, 60 hz, and 3450 RPM, if that helps.

So here's the problem: My pool pump does not pull ANYTHING out of the pool. Things can be floating almost directly nearby/above/below the strainer and it isn't strong enough to budge them. I can feel some suction with my hand but very minimal.
The return pressure seems much stronger, and really gushes out into the pool, moving significant amounts of water, but there is not enough suction to remove any debris from the pool, no matter how small.

Here is what I've attempted/verified so far:

I've checked for air leaks. There were some originally (the water was barely splashing the top of the pump basket.) but now I have eliminated all air bubbles completely. Pump is primed and seeming to run optimally.
I checked the impeller. It moves freely with my hand, no obstructions.
The pressure rating on my filter would jump up to 18 psi or so when I'd run the pump so I followed the deep cleaning instructions for a sand filter. (Thank you for the great tutorial!) That dropped the pressure reading down to 12 when I run the pump, but made minimal to no difference in the suction strength.
I've switched the multi-valve to re-circulate to bypass the filter. (NO CHANGE in the suction strength.)
If I remove the inlet line, water gushes out of the pool at an alarming rate, so I'm ruling out the strainer basket as the issue. (But I could be wrong!)
I've checked the line for any obstructions and it is also clear.