I am a pool newbie and need help.

May 23, 2016
Salem
I am a pool newbie and am in desperate need to help open my pool. My pool needs to be emptied, cleaned (I mean, it's nasty) and then I don't know what to do from there. There is leaves, brown algae, etc. I am in the process of finding out how to put my pool filter, etc together. I need to know what products to buy and hoping that I can keep this as inexpensive as possible. Please help. I have an Intex Ultra Metal frame pool. Thank you in advance for any and all advice and help.

To keep this inexpensive is bc I have had a lot of medical problems in the last few months, and dr has ordered me to stay relaxed and stress free. :)

Welcome to TFP :) We're all about saving a penny here.. This is the common sense, cheapest way to manage your pool and keep it healthy.

I'm unclear as to how large your pool is? If it is small enough to empty here is a good read for you:Pool School - Guide for Seasonal/Temporary Pools

Dabble in Pool School articles up at the link above and start with the ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry

Hmmmm... Pool Math estimates show that to be about 13K gallons. Is it round or rectangle??
Too much to drain, I think. Don't drain it entirely, always leave a foot in the bottom to hold the liner down.

I would suggest using a small sump pump (or even a simple hose siphon) to get it down, then using a bleach solution to wash it down, spray it out and fill fresh. As soon as you fill it up, you'll need to add stabilizer and chlorine. How do you want to do that? Pucks will provide both but over time the continual use of them will be a problem as they add too much CYA to the water. You could start with pucks and then move on to household bleach. That would be ideal. You don't need to worry about any calcium. Your pH can be managed easily with muriatic acid and/or baking soda. Borax may be useful but we don't know yet until you test your pool after its filled.