The Adventures of a new pool owner.

runtpacket

Feb 21, 2016
Marysville
Hello everyone,

Like most everyone coming here we have a new house with a pool. It's our 1st time having a pool so I'm a noob.

The pool from my best educated guess is a 28' Ester Williams. It's Buried in the ground.

Here's a drone picture of our pool and backyard. As you can see int he picture the pool has a deep end. I am not yet sure how deep it is. I know it's at least 7' by measuring with my screen net. The shallow end appears to be around 4' deep.
l8ca76f45-m1r.jpg

and here's a ground level view of the pool
2016-05-12 13.40.22.jpg

Here's the pump house
OQ8L6CD.jpg

Since we are now starting to get some nice days here in Michigan I have ventured into opening my pool up.

Pre-Opening
I had to tackle an issue with the pavers around the pool. The previous owner had to drain the pool to replace the liner and yep the wall collapsed. I've read that they should have put in a concrete slurry around the pool to prevent a collapse. Thankfully he had that repaired and the pool back in operation. But he didn't have all the pavers down. So I installed them and then tackled grouting all the pavers. They moved under your feet when you walked around, so I used polycrylic sand and grouted them. This created my 1st issue with opening the pool. I couldn't connect the skimmer or water return lines to the pool because of a few pavers. Easily fixed removed them and leveled with sand.

On to Starting up the pool