Temporary closing

jca001

Gold Supporter
Bought a house in November with a pool and had the liner changed, sand in the filter changed and switched to SWCG in March. This is the first pool I have owned, so I am new to all the things that have to be done. Because the liner was changed in March, there really was not a pool opening per say.

We are going out of town for 3 weeks in June and I plan to put the safety cover on to keep leave and such out and turn off the pump off because I don't think it would be a good idea to have it running in case there was a problem with it.

Is there anything else I should do as far as adding any chemicals before putting the cover on and turning the pump off?

Is there anything I need to do when we return and remove the cover other than run the pump and take a water sample to the pool store to be checked?

:wave: Welcome to TFP!!!

You could do what you are saying and then just deal with the pool when you get back, likely needing to follow the SLAM process (you have one of the Recommended Test Kits right? .... oops just got to the last sentence. NO!!! do not take the water to a pool store for testing, we do not trust their testing. Invest in your own kit and take control. ;))

If you do that, I would raise the FC up to shock level (function of your stabilizer (CYA) level, see the FC/CYA Chart), let the water circulate for at least and hour and then shut it all down.

I might be tempted to just put the cover on and leave the pump and SWG running a little bit each day.

Thanks for the quick reply and I am sorry for my delay in replying.

I ordered a Test Kit the same day, but it has not arrived yet.