Lingering algae issues.........

May 23, 2015
Dallas, TX
I'm a noob please be gentle! Mods please move this post if you feel it should be elsewhere - thx.

Due to seemingly endless travel over the last year I hired a pool service. Long story short I fired them last Friday. While not overgrown by any means my pool has developed a persistent greenish algae in spots - seems to be killed and gone only to reemerge in about the same spots over and over - covering in total maybe 15% of the pool's surface, and probably algae stains/deposits. The last straw was these jokers had driven my CYA from 35/40 last fall to over 110 last week. In my pool things begin to go totally haywire at about CYA = 100, at CYA = 110 or more - nothing works properly.

I drained and refilled and am now trying to decide whether to jump on board with the TFP method managed by me or reverting back to managing my pool myself and using a local store for chems.

My worries about TFP....
1. I feel queasy keeping FC = ~7ppm.
2. I have a Taylor TF-100 test kit. However, not seeing reds very well I don't want to misread the pH side measurements.

Questions......
1. What's the consensous about chlorine metering devices like the Hasa Liquidator?
2. What are the chances a proper slamming will remove some of the staining I have?

I saw a guy review an pool that looked like HAZMAT sight with a full bottle of Yellowtrine, 8 or 10 bags of shock and more chlorine over the course of several days. It was amazing, garbage to Okay in a day, pretty nice in three days and perfect on the 4th.

So I'm either going to go the Yellowtrine route or if your fine people can talk me off the ledge I'll try the TFP route.

Right now (machine readings)......
FC - 9.84
TC - 9.84
CC - 0
ph - 7.5
TA - 107
CH - 211
CYA - 28
Copper - 0
Iron - 0
TDS - 500
Phosphates - 200

I'm going to re-test myself and take a sample into a place that does a good job and add those numbers in a bit.