High FC & TA

Apr 28, 2009
Virginia Beach, VA
I'm quite new to this, so please bear with me. I just received my TFT100 kit last week and here are the test results from this weekend.

FC: 11.5
CC: 0
TC: 11.5
pH: 6.8
TA: 260
CH:190
CYA: 55

The first test I ran was for CYA, which originally read somewhere between 0 and 20. I added stabilizer Saturday and, as of Sunday afternoon, CYA had come up to 55.

pH was originally at 7.8. I added muriatic acid to bring that down to where it is now, in an attempt to lower TA (came down a little lower than I wanted, but my TA's got a long way to go). Seems like my TA is awfully high compared to the recommended level of 60 - 80. Is this going to be a slow, torturous process? Also, I have the jets in my stairs that creates a lot of bubbles and I also have a Polaris. Are those enough to generate the level of aerating I need or do I need to do more? Should I run my pump on high 24/7 until my TA level is where it needs to be?

Finally, my TC level is also high. I assume this is because I had my SWG set to autochlorinate (before I became a member of this board and learned that there's a better way). So I brought the percentage setting way down and shortened my pump run time. I assume the only thing I need to do at this point is simply wait for the FC level to naturally decrease. Is that correct?

Any other advice is greatly appreciated!

How much stabilizer did you add? It's very rare for CYA to register that quickly after an addition, it usually takes closer to a week, or did you add liquid?

Re-read the article about lowering TA in Pool School. It's a process, and you have to add acid/and aerate, repeating the process. You don't want to lower the PH that low. It sounds like the bubbles will be enough, do you have eyeball returns you can point up towards the surface? The more bubbles the faster the process.

If you turn the SWG off until the FC is where you want it, that will certainly bring it into range quicker.