I'm new to pool water testing.

Feb 14, 2016
San Diego, CA
Taylor K-2006 testing kit got here yesterday. I did a few test this morning. I got to admit that I'm very confused.

First, the FC test came out nothing. I add 10 dippers of R-0870 to the tube. The water didn't change color at all. Am I suppose to add more R-0870 until the water turns to pink?

pH test: my pool water's pH is above 8.0. I used 8 drops of R-0005 to bring the color match to 7.6/7.4. According the Table E, I need to add 1 gal of Muriatic Acid to my pool (20K gal water need 1.15gal Muriatic Acid, but my pool is 18K gal. water).

Total Alkalinity Test: I ended up using 10ml sample. It took 8 drops of R-0007 to turn the sample water into not red but bright pink (like the color of ph 8.0). My question is how to calculate ALK.

CH test: I need 47 drops of R-0012 to turn the sample to blue. What does it say about the pool water's CH number?

CyA test: Sample water didn't turn cloudy.

What should I do?

Welcome to TFP!

OK, first you MUST follow the instructions on the inside of the lid. You should only need to add two dippers.... ever. Then, "If free chlorine is present, sample will turn pink." Apparently, since the color didn't turn pink, you have no free chlorine. So, to get some, go to the calculator and calculate how much bleach you need to add. (Probably about 1 gallon and 2 quarts.)

pH - I'd put in about 1/2 gallon of MA and test again. It is better to sneak up on it, than go over.

If TA is 200, at this point, which sounds very high, you need to get that down by following instructions in Pool Math.

You may have a CH of 470, but that sounds high.

CYA? No cloudy? No CYA. So, you need to add some per instructions in Pool School and Pool Math.

First, let's get the pH under control and get some Chlorine in there.....

What does the water look like? Is this a fresh fill?