Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Daily bleach usage

1. Back To Top    #1

Daily bleach usage

This is my first year on BBB, and my pool looks great, thanks to TFP. My question is, I am having to add 1.5 gal of Aldi tundra daily to maintain 6ppm fc, the water temp is 70 deg the daily temp is averaging 65 deg and there is no bather load, is this excessive? Can I reduce this demand by adding the borates? thanks for the help.

fc. 8.0
    tc 8.5
    ph 7.4
    ta 110
    cya 50
    20k inground fiberglass
    sand filter
    k-2006 test kit

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Daily bleach usuage

I would recommend you perform an overnight FC test with your FAS-DPD test to see if there is something else going on.

Test after dark, record the results. First thing tomorrow morning, test again and compare the two. If you lose more than 1ppm overnight, you should shock your pool.

Hope this helps.

One other thing to consider, users don't report problems with Aldi's bleach, but there is always the possibility that it's the Aldi bleach, that's not the full 6%, somehow the bleach lost some of it's strength...
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

3. Back To Top    #3

In the Industry

Yeah, do that overnight test. I'll bet you find you lose more than 1ppm....indicating some algae developing in your pool and the need to shock.

The Sun typically won't consume that much FC with your CYA level so organics (algae) is the only other suspect.
    Dave S. - Forum owner
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

4. Back To Top    #4