Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Brand new, just getting started

1. Back To Top    #1

Brand new, just getting started

So I am new to the TFP forums and the BBB method, and I am excited to try it. We bought a house 1.5 yrs ago with a pool, and managed to keep it relatively clean last summer. Really had no clue what we were doing though. I just found this website, and want to try the suggestions. The pool was uncovered this winter (in Texas) and right now it looks like a dark green swamp. I read the article on cleaning a swamp and bought the TF100 kit. Today I am finally ready to get started on it. Here are my numbers:
    Cl 0
    pH 8.0
    TA 160
    Ca 180
    CYA 0

I realize I need to fix the pH and CYA, and am planning on running to the store shortly to pick up some muriatic acid and enough stabilizer to raise the CYA to 20. I just put in the first round of bleach and after 30 mins my FC was 1.0 and CC was 5.5!!
    Why is my CC so high? Is it just because of the ton of algae? How do I get it down? Do I keep adding more bleach? I will appreciate any advice.
    16K gal, plaster, with DE filter

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Brand new, just getting started

Your on the right track, your CC is so high because of the algae that's being killed by the bleach. Over time and all the algae is killed your CC will return to 0. At this point you will need to keep testing and adding bleach hourly to keep it at shock level.
    The experts will be along soon to give you even better advice.
    16' by 32' cornelius AG vinyl liner, 6' deep end, 14500 gal.
    Hayward 250 Lb sand filter
    Hayward 40 GPM pump
    2-2' by 20' sun grabber solar heater.
    4 gal Liquidator. BBB

3. Back To Top    #3

Yep, 98xc600 has it right. Just get the PH adjusted and CYA started first, and then go for the chlorine as described in the article.

Good Luck!