newbie here, pool filter acid soak question

Hi guys
    ~40K gallons
    IG, PLaster pool
    De filter.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: newbie here, pool filter acid soak question

Welcome to the forum !

What are you using to chlorinate your pool ?
    There is a section in our pool school about cleaning filters. I am not sue about the acid thing but someone who knows should be along shortly to offer advice.
    It would help if you could post a full set of test results as well as add you equipment specs (pool size, type, filter etc) to your signatue would be helpful others are giving you advice about your particular situation.
    Les
    Don't have a pool right now. Just sharing what I have learned over the years!
    Helpful Links:
    Pool School,Pool Calculator,Cl/CYA Shock Chart,TF Test Kit
    Doing BBB and loving it!

3. Back To Top    #3

Thanks
    ~40K gallons
    IG, PLaster pool
    De filter.

4. Back To Top    #4

Hi and Welcome.

We were all noobs once...

As for your sig, go to User Control Panel, then Profile, then Edit Signature.

Check out the pool calculator, it may help you figure out your gallonage.

I'm not sure about the DE filter either....but here is an article on caring for DE filters.

Hopefully someone will be along shortly to answer that specifically.
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

5. Back To Top    #5

Welcome to TFP!!

I can certainly empathize with not having enough time You're doing the BEST thing by coming here to learn how to properly care for your pool!

I'd say to wait to do a full chemical cleaning of the filter's grids until the pool is clean and algae free. (I wrote the article that FPM linked [thanks Ann! for saving me the 3 minutes it'd take to link that ])