Need paint help - 'glass pool

RASelkirk

Jul 11, 2015
Port Neches, TX
Hi All,

Hope this in the proper section. I have a 1992 FG inground 18k gal pool that was gel-coated and epoxy-painted in 2008. Gel coat appears to be fine, but there are quite a few spots where the paint has disappeared. I can always go back to the first crew that did the work (very $$$), but have been in contact with an outfit that's been around since 1990 and is considerably cheaper. I'm not getting good vibes from this group though, besides a "language barrier", they are recommending Smart Seal 431 "DuraSeal" which clearly states for concrete/plaster. I'm thinking I need to tell this outfit "thanks anyway" and just pay the exorbitant price to get it done right.

Anybody know about this DuraSeal stuff, can it be used on fiberglass?

Thanks!

Russ

I have no hands on experience with paint. The forum abounds with failure after failure of paint very early (Like 2-3 years)

Because you got 7 good years from the first job, I think that may be as good as it gets and I would pay the money.....cringing just a little when I did.

Probably money well spent.

Found out Smart Seal has 3 different lines, and I'm hoping they sent me a link to the "Aqua" line for color purposes only (as that was what I had asked for). Haven't heard from them since it's the weekend, hoping they are planning on using their "Dura" epoxy line. There's only a $35/gal difference, but years as far as durability...

Russ