Python code for ORP readings conversion to Chlorine (in ppm)

seanny

Aug 3, 2015
Singapore
Hi I am Sean from singapore. Just would like to let everyone know some significant differences in how we manage chemical levels in pools here as compared to other countries, especially Western nations.

1) We don't measure CYA levels (or perhaps use CYA in our pools)

2) We measure Chlorine in ppm, rather than using ORP readings.

Hence I am building a prototype auto dosing system powered by Raspberry Pi for a client. My sensors are purchased from Atlas Scientific, which means having an ORP Probe. This is my first time coding in 4 years, hence I would like to know whether anyone has coded conversions from ORP readings to free chlorine (in ppm).

Otherwise, I am stuck with using the ORP conversion charts and developing an algorithm to understand the trend of chemical levels in pools over time.

Looking forward to your constructive feedback.

Without CYA how do you manage the FC level? It has to be very low, like .1 or.2 ppm without CYA. TFP will even recommen some CYA, around 20 ppm, for indoor pools, just to help buffer the effects of chlorine. It also makes management much easier.

This is for residential pools. Commercial pools are treated a little differently and are outside of my comfort zone.

- - - Updated - - -

If you do some searches around this forum you will find lots of info about ORP sensors. Look for posts by Chem Geek, JoyFullNoise and others.

- - - Updated - - -

In general, automated systems have a poor track record due to things you are starting to find out. One of the big issues, is the need to calibrate sensors on a regular basis. If you are going through that effort, you might as well, just test with a good kit, and manual dose the chlorine and pH adjustment yourself.

Welcome to TFP! :wave: