Help Needed Closing Inground Pool

Jun 6, 2015
Cedar Run NJ
Hello All, closing my pool for first time and could use some help. I live on the east coast and have drained water below skimmer and returns(1 skimmer 2 returns) trying to blow lines out and having a problem.
Im using a shop vac and when I blow into skimmer or filter pump no air blowing thru returns, blowing into filter pump I get air out of skimmer and vice versa but can't get air out of returns.

I capped the returns by the stair spas and still no luck, I also have a waterfall and slide that I shut but same results.

im new at this so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

When I close my pool I take off the valves at the pump end. I have a valve that I can turn to allow water to return to the main drain or not, after that is a valve that will allow water to return to the returns in the shallow end of the pool and/or to the water fall.

I will take the valve off and put the end of my shop vac (blowing out) into the pipe that goes to the returns. I will wrap a washcloth or small towel around the end of the shop vac to try and create a seal. Doing this I have been successful in blowing water out of the returns. Once the water is out and I feel air coming out I will then plug the returns and fill with antifreeze from the pump.

For the water fall I will try to blow out from the pump, fill with antifreeze, blow a little more, add more antifreeze and that's it.

For the skimmers I will use the shop vac to suck as much water out of the pipes as possible from the skimmer end. I will also try to blow it out from the pump end (valve is also removed). Once I got out what I can I fill with antifreeze at the skimmer and try to suck from the pump which pulls the antifreeze in as far as possible. I will then fill with antifreeze from the pump end as well.

Yankees: