Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: New guy=Green pool

1. Back To Top    #1

New guy=Green pool

Hi, I am new to the pool thing. That being said I found this forum and learned enough to go ahead and order the TF-100 test kit. This is a SWG.

Now to the problem, IT'S GREEN!!

I used the test kit and came up with these numbers,
    FC-10
    CC-0
    TC-1-2
    pH-7.2
    T/A-30
    CH-2
    CYA-55-60
    I have been trying to read up on what to do, but I wanted to get some better advice. The pool stores are a joke!
    Thanks for any help.
    18x36 inground, SWG, 25000 gals.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: New guy=Green pool

Welcome to TFP!

Read the article at turning-your-green-swamp-back-into-a-sparking-oasis-t4147.html then look through Pool School pool-school/ That should get you started.
    TFP Moderator
    20K Gallon 20X36 Vinyl Inground
    Hayward S244T Sand Filter with 1HP Whisperflo Pump. Liquidator C-201 and Solar Heat

3. Back To Top    #3

Start with the Pool School part of the forum - that and the pool calculator will get you going.

I'm curious, however, if you think that your pool is green from an algae bloom? If so, then there's something wrong with your numbers (FC 10 ppm but CC 0 ppm). The experts will be along shortly, I suspect.
    15X30 AGP, Lomart beaded liner;
    1.5 HP Sta-Rite pump with 21 inch sand filter (Zeobrite media)
    Mineral Springs (Aquatrol) SWCG, Rigid PVC plumbing, 2 inch
    Four 4X12 Techno-Solis solar panels, rack mounted, Goldline Solar Controller

4. Back To Top    #4

It is quite possible for FC to be 10 and CC to be 0. You often don't see any CC when fighting algae. Of course, it is also common to see at least some CC, but hardly always.