Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Fill Water Test - Advice needed

1. Back To Top    #1

Fill Water Test - Advice needed

Hey folks...newbie here. So we are putting in a 24' AGP and I ordered the TF 100 kit. Couldn;t wait to test with it so I figured why not test my tap water, which I plan to use to fill the pool. Here are my results as they were somewhat surprising. We live in Dutchess County NY and we always knew our water was hard, but this seems off the charts. Please let me know if it is possible to use this water for fill or will I be better off spending $700 for 3 truckloads of water (would rather spend the money on Trex :>))

PH - 7.2
    CH - 470 (Checked twice 1st reading 460)
    FC - 0
    TA - 360

Didn't test for the remaining stuff as I figure I should be able to adjust.

Great site and can't wait to get some feedback!
    24'x52" AGP (13,500 Gallons), Intex SWG, (2)Solar Bear 4x20 panels, Hayward S220T Filter, 1/2hp Pentair Superflo

Pool School, TFTestKits, Pool Calculator

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Fill Water Test - Advice needed

Welcome to TFP!

It is possible to work with those levels, but it will take lots of acid and some diligence at the beginning to keep the PH carefully controlled until you can get the TA down. You will also want to use every opportunity to gather rain water to keep your CH level from going up too much over time.

If you are thinking about getting water trucked in, first double check that the water you are getting won't have exactly the same problem.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

If the trucked in water is good, what about a 50/50 mix? That might work...
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart