Complete Newbies

Mello

Aug 7, 2015
Florida
Hi everyone:wave:,

By way of introduction, I'm brand new to this forum, and DH & I are also new to pool ownership, as well as new to a southern climate.
We did both have pools as teens, and we each helped with the chemicals/upkeep, but that was over 30 years ago and we know much as changed since then (for instance, we had a gigantic 10 ft deep pool with diving board that my folks paid $10,000 for, and now we're looking at a 12x24 5 ft deep pool for $35-$45,000! LOL - big difference!). We recently moved from the much colder Pacific Northwest, where liner pools are common, to the hot, humid Southeast (Central Florida - Orlando area), where gunite pools seem to be the thing, and cooling the pool seems to be more of an issue than heating it!

We're in the final stages of choosing a pool builder, we've had estimates from 6 of them, and we're completely overwhelmed with options and have so many questions I barely know where to start! As I research online, I keep stumbling across this wonderfully helpful website and forum, so I decided to join.

I guess I'll start with a quick description of our basic design, then ask a few of the most important questions...

We have a small lot overlooking a creek, and most of our backyard will be pool/deck. The lot slopes down about 2 feet toward the creek. A screen cover is a must because of all the critters in/around the creek. The design is a modified Grecian 12x24 with rounded corners, steps at one end, a swim out at the other, a sheer descent with spill centered on the back (screen) length, and a half-circle 4x8 sun-shelf centered on the front (house) length. We're pretty sure we want a salt chlorine generator and a variable speed pump. Not sure about any of the other equipment yet.

Now for the questions: