Drain and refill or?

ecrabb

May 25, 2015
SLC, Utah
Newbie here. It's been a couple of months since I started this journey. Read and researched in March and April, then it took a couple of months to find and hire concrete contractors, wait for an opening in their schedule, get the concrete poured, cured, and finished, travel for the Fourth, then finally get back to get the pool set up. The pad looked awesome though and I was excited.

So finally, this weekend I prepped the base with landscape fabric and the ground cloth and set up the pool, a 16x48 Intex Ultra Frame. I did it by myself and had no problems. The legs had plenty of room on my pad - a couple of inches on all sides. I put an inch or two of water in and took the wrinkles out per direction. Looks great!

So I started filling. As the water line started coming up and bulging the sides a little, a couple of the legs crept uncomfortably close to the edge, so installed a vinyl-coated steel cable with ratchet tie to stabilize the legs. I saw that somebody had done that here and liked the idea. The rope is worthless - I have no idea how anybody makes that work. Cable installed, and everything sufficiently tight and confidence restored, I kept filling to almost 3/4. Legs were still looked good, but I put I pounded in a couple of 2x4's on edge just outside the two legs I was nervous about.

Yesterday I came home from work to find that the two legs I was nervous about had crept out beyond the edge of the concrete, and mostly onto the 2x4's. I ran to Home Depot quick and grabbed another steel cable and ratchet strap and installed it to make sure nothing could move anymore. Both are like guitar strings. Not sure what note they're tuned to.