Ponderings on SWCG pH chemistry and TA

dschlic1

Silver Supporter
LifeTime Supporter
Oct 5, 2007
Valrico, FL
The Hayward/Goldline automatic pH control, Sense and Dispense, recommends using CO2 to lower the pH. I have several questions and points to ponder on using CO2 to correct pH in pools.

1. Won't the addition of CO2 raise the TA? After all to lower the TA we are advised to aerate the water to remove CO2.

2. My pool maybe an exception, but I am adding about 16 oz of muriatic acid per week to maintain pH stable. I am using an acid pump that runs for a set time each day. I have adjusted the feed rate of the pump to the point where my pH changes less than 0.1 units per week.

3. I have been running this setup for about 6 months, and during that six months, my TA has changed from 100 to 90 ppm. This seems to indicate that my pH change is due to processes other than the loss of CO2 in the water.

It would seem that the use of CO2 to correct pH changes, over a long period of time, would result in a continuous rise in the TA.

I can't explain the chemistry behind it...perhaps chemgeek will be along, but I can tell you from practical experience that it seems highly dependent on how the C02 is introduced. If it is injected with little or ineffective diffusion the alkalinity increase is greater. The theory is that the larger the bubble the greater the alkalinity increase. In the early days many systems just injected into the return through a standard gas or chemical injection fitting. Then venturi injectors were used frequently. Now, most systems use a good quality sintered stainless diffuser of less than 10 microns with an offline contact chamber.

I have no idea what Hayward is using in the Sense & Dispense, but knowing that it is targeted at the residential market I bet it's cheap. Probably along the lines of an aquarium stone.