Spa water level keeps dropping when pump is OFF

llomll

Jul 4, 2015
anaheim, ca
Hi all,

I am new to this forums, came across when I was doing a google search to figure out what might be wrong with my pool/spa as it is leaking water somewhere.

I am not a pool expert at all so please forgive me if I some of my questions do not make sense.

Lately I have been noticing that the pool requires lots of water to maintain it's level. So to make sure if it's a leak or just an evaporation; I performed a bucket test with duration of 24 hours with pump off. I noticed that the water level in the pool had dropped more than the water level in the bucket; therefore I am starting to suspect some sort of a leak somewhere.

Further observation tells me that the water level in the spa is dropping a lot compared to the pool [pump is off] so I am thinking may be problem is somewhere on the spa side? I then started walking around the pool and spa and equipment area but can not find any leaks or water.

However I did see two broken tiles inside the spa so I am not sure if water is dripping thru there and leaking inside the wall structure, pictures are attached.

I am also attaching the pictures of the pool equipment as I figured it may help with troubleshooting.

Thanks for reading and all your help!

Attachments

• IMG_20150704_121900.jpg
    IMG_20150704_121900.jpg
    74.7 KB · Views: 48
  • IMG_20150704_121909.jpg
    IMG_20150704_121909.jpg
    91.5 KB · Views: 48
  • IMG_20150704_124013.jpg
    IMG_20150704_124013.jpg
    53.9 KB · Views: 48
The spa might just be draining back into the pool. I would check the pool light first if you have one. Noemally the conduit just fills with water but if the conduit breaks the water can leak into the ground. I had that problem last year.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

Yes, the spa is elevated. I am not sure about overflow drain. How does the overflow drain look like?

Thanks