Become a TFP Supporter Welcome to our new server and new forum software. Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Hayward Turbo Cell Installation

  1. #1
    Member TexasTwister's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Richmond, Texas
    Posts
    36

    Hayward Turbo Cell Installation

    Today was the first visit to a new client whose pool is a few months old. Upon testing water chemistry, the pool had -0- chlorine even though their Pro Logic/Turbo Cell installation was set at 60% output and the filter pump is programmed to run 8 hours per day. The diagnostic menu on the control says the flow is okay and salt is at 3100 ppm. Water temp at 59º. When looking at the SWG, the installation doesn't look right to me. A pic is attached.

    All of the installed Turbo Cell's I've encountered have had the water go through the flow sensor, then through the tapered end of the Turbo Cell, and out the "blunt" end. In this case, it is the opposite. Water flows through the blunt end of the Turbo Cell, out the tapered end, then through the flow sensor, and then out the return lines. Does it matter which end the water flows through the cell as long as the flow switch is happy?

    I really need the input of someone who has experience with these so that I can advise the client. Thanks for all your help!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    15,323 gallon inground pool, Wetedge Primera Stone plaster, Pentair IntelliChlor IC40 SWG, Pentair IntelliFlo 4x160 pump, Pentair Clean & Clear Plus 420 cartridge filter, Pentair EasyTouch control panel, Pentair Kreepy Krauly. No spa, no heater.

  2. #2
    Administrator JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    34,775

    Re: Hayward Turbo Cell Installation

    The Hayward manual shows it installed both ways (page #13, diagram #1 & #3).

    It is very easy for improper water chemistry to produce the results you describe. Both low CYA levels and algae can cause FC to read at zero most of the time, even when the cell is working perfectly. Algae can do this even when the water appears clear and algae free.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    TFP Admin. Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. #3
    Member TexasTwister's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Richmond, Texas
    Posts
    36

    Re: Hayward Turbo Cell Installation

    Yes, I had noticed diagram 3 when reviewing the manual earlier. I did not test for CYA while I was there (low on solution) but I would guess it was zero. All of the SWG pools I maintain had zero when I began servicing them (but not anymore!). I've just never seen a case where all the chlorine being generated was being lost because of low CYA, especially at such low water temps and the number of cloudy days we have had. Chlorinator output is currently at 60%. The water does have a slight cloudiness to it. I will recommend to the pool owner that we get the CYA up to reasonable levels and go from there.

    Something else I will do the next time I visit is to force a new cycle of chlorine generation at the controller and capture the water exiting the wall return using a water bottle to check output chlorine levels.

    Much appreciate the input!
    15,323 gallon inground pool, Wetedge Primera Stone plaster, Pentair IntelliChlor IC40 SWG, Pentair IntelliFlo 4x160 pump, Pentair Clean & Clear Plus 420 cartridge filter, Pentair EasyTouch control panel, Pentair Kreepy Krauly. No spa, no heater.

  4. #4
    Senior Member New2Me's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    SW Indiana
    Posts
    322

    Re: Hayward Turbo Cell Installation

    Water temp at 59º
    I thought that chlorine production tapered off significantly in cold water.
    22 x 40 IG vinyl lined, 23,570 gal.
    1 hp. Pac-Fab Challenger pump 300# sand filter
    Intex 8110 SWG, Hayward CL220 offline feeder
    Hayward 250K Btu gas heater
    Aquabots

  5. #5
    Senior Member spishex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Hillsborough, NC
    Posts
    1,377

    Re: Hayward Turbo Cell Installation

    Since this customer is new to you I'd recommend pulling the thing off line and cleaning the cell, or at least visually inspecting it if you haven't already. The service light on the Goldline is pretty good about letting you know when something needs to be done, but I always pull a new customer's cell just for good measure, along with checking their impeller for debris, condition of filter media, etc.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Valrico, FL
    Posts
    458

    Re: Hayward Turbo Cell Installation

    If the water is slightly cloudly, then it is almost certain that you have an infestation.
    7,500 gal, IG pool, L shape 22' x 15', 1.5 hp pump, cartridge filter, AquaPlus SWG/Controller, Pebble-Tec liner.

  7. #7
    Senior Member In the Industry
    budster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Savannah Historic District
    Posts
    272

    Re: Hayward Turbo Cell Installation

    Possible causes of little or no free chlorine residual
    - Aqua Rite® switch in OFF position.
    - Desired Output % adjustment setting is too low.
    - Low stabilizer (Cyanuric Acid).
    - Filter pump time too short (8 hours for average size pools, more for large pools)
    - Salt level too low (below 2400 ppm, Check Salt LED on).
    - Salt level too high (High Salt LED on).
    - Very warm pools increase chlorine demand--increase Output %, or filter run time.
    - Cold water (below 50ºF) causes Aqua Rite to stop generating (Generating LED flashing).
    - Excessive scaling on cell.
    - High level of Nitrogen in pool water.
    - "Yellow Out" or similar treatment recently used. Some yellow algae treatments will
    use chlorine at a very high rate and deplete the residual free chlorine. Manually shock
    the pool if indicated in the directions on the algae treatment. It still may be a matter of
    days before the pool returns to "normal" and chlorine tests will show the desired 1-
    3ppm free chlorine reading.

    This from Goldline's Manual. Just to be PC!
    http://www.swimmingpool.com/

    "Leave the gun...take the cannolis"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •