Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: What bleach to get?

1. Back To Top    #1

What bleach to get?

HI,

I am new to using bleach and wanted to switch to using bleach rather than shocking. I have read on the forum that bleach is better sine it does not add other stuff to the pool. I went to Walmart today and got the great value bleach which is 8.25% but it also states other ingredients as 91% which I have no idea about. Would it be fine to use this one? Can someone with more experience please post a link to the bleach that they have been using. Thank you for the help.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: What bleach to get?

Bleach and chlorinating liquid are the same except for concentration so if you find chlorinating liquid at a better price then that is also fine to use. You can roughly compare them by dividing the concentration (%) by the number of fluid ounces and choose the one that is less expensive.

For bleach, you want to get unscented regular (but may be "concentrated") bleach that is not splash-less, outdoor, etc. The Great Value bleach at Walmart that is 8.25% is good to use and competes (at a lower price) with Clorox bleach. The 91% is just water and salt so nothing to worry about.
    16,000 gallon outdoor in-ground 16'x32' plaster pool; Pentair Intelliflo VF pump; Pentair IntelliTouch i9+3s control system; Jandy CL-340 square foot cartridge filter
    12 Fafco solar panels; Purex Triton PowerMax 250 natural gas heater (200,000 BTU/hr output); automatic electric pool safety cover; 4-wheel pressure-side "The Pool Cleaner"

3. Back To Top    #3

Thank you so much

4. Back To Top    #4

Just to add my experience as a newbie in the past week:

Walmart Great Value - 8.25% - $2.59/121 oz is what I used to SLAM and it worked great
    Harris Teeter 101 Bleach - 3 - 5% - $1.89/121 oz - I had to find the MSDS sheet on this stuff as the concentration isn't listed anywhere on the bottle. It's significantly weaker and a waste of $