Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sand Filter/NEW pool Owner

1. Back To Top    #1

Question Sand Filter/NEW pool Owner

Hi all. I NEED HELP!!! I inherited a pool with a house I purchased. I've been trying to get it up and going myself and this is proving to be an impossible task. First the water is pretty much BLACK (I'm told that is black algae (sp)) I was told to pour algaecide (sp) and let the water "circulate". The only problem is that the filter system was not covered and the settings on the arm have been faded by the sun and it seems to be an older sand system and I cannot locate what the settings should be.

I would love some help. As I said I'm totally new to this. Cannot afford the "professionals" and I've asked a few installers that do this on the side for help they have made many appointments and never showed up nor called. It is very frustrating . I wanted to have a 4th party but that isn't going to happen. I'm in Tulsa, OK.
    Any help with be helpful!!!

thank you to whomever started this forum
    Attached Images Attached Images

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Sand Filter/NEW pool Owner

You were told wrong about the algaecide. It won't help, and may hurt. What you need is chlorine.

You need to get things running first so you have circulation. Rinse, waste and backwash will result in water coming out of the clear fitting on the filter. Recirculate and filter will move water from the skimmer to the pool return. On closed, water won't go anywhere. If your pressure gauge works, you'll probably be able to narrow down which is which. If it doesn't work, get a new one.

Check out the article Defeating Algae for more information
    TFP Moderator
    20K Gallon 20X36 Vinyl Inground
    Hayward S244T Sand Filter with 1HP Whisperflo Pump. Liquidator C-201 and Solar Heat

3. Back To Top    #3