Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Chlorine Tabs and Shock

1. Back To Top    #1

Question Chlorine Tabs and Shock

Newbie here. I've been using Leslie's Power Powder Plus shock and wanted to try using their 3" Jumbo Tabs to keep the chlorine level up. The clerk at the store told me that it's ok to use both products, tabs daily and shock weekly. After getting home and reading the chlorinator instructions, it says to never mix Tri-Chloro (jumbo tabs active ingredient) with Calcium Hypochlorite (Power Powder Plus). I'm confused with what seems like contradictory information. Can someone please ease my concerns?
    30 x 15, 11K gal, freeform gunite; built 2014; Pentair Intelliflo variable speed pump, Pentair Whisperflo pump, Pentair clean & clear plus filter, helicocol solar panels (installed 6/26/15).

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Chlorine Tabs and Shock

Welcome to TFP!!!

You NEVER!!! want those 2 forms of chlorine to come in contact with each other, but fine once dissolved in the pool.

But, I would not recommend either of those for you out in CA. You do not want the extra CH (calcium) that the cal-hypo adds or the extra CYA (stabilizer) that the trichlor tablets add. Both if they get too high require replacing your water.

Have you discovered Pool School yet? Start with these:
    ABCs of Water Chemistry
    Recommended Pool Chemicals
    How to Chlorinate Your Pool
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3