Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Skimmers and Drains

1. Back To Top    #1

Skimmers and Drains

I would like to make some adjustments to the powerfulness of the skimming (if it's even possible). I don't feel like our pool skims well from the top. I don't know if it has anything to do with the deepness of our pool so the main drain is 8.5 deep below. I've been a good student of TFPC pool chemistry and have that down so now I'd like to fix a few other things to help out with the general appearance. Is what I'm suggesting even possible?

Thanks in advance for any guidance!
    26,000 IG, pebble tec, flagstone, pentair Triton II TR100 sand filter & VS+SVRS 3hp multi-speed pump, Intellichlor IC-40 SWG, Pentair Booster Cleaner, spillover spa, waterfall, Taylor K-2006 testkit
    [It is better to know how to learn, than to know. - Dr. Seuss[/I]

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Skimmers and Drains

I tend to have that issue when the pool is "too full", e.g. after a couple of inches of rain. I tend to keep my water low (lower half of the skimmer) so that I can get as much skimming as I can. If that doesn't work for you, do you have a valve or valves before the pump where you can adjust where to "pull" the water from?
    23K gallon, IG, Vinyl, Hayward DE-3600 Filter, Raypak 406A Heater, Hayward 1.5HP SP2610X15 pump aka AO Smith UST1152, TF-100 Test Kit

3. Back To Top    #3

Typically if someone wanted to increase their skimmer strength (for surface water cleaning), they would look to their plumbing controls. Some pools have a 3-way valve on their suction side just before the pump basket that allows them to adjust how much suction they want coming in from either the main drain versus the skimmer(s). If you have such a valve, you could try adjusting that.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir