Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Aquarite will not run on 240. 120 is fine

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Southern Ohio
    Posts
    86

    Aquarite will not run on 240. 120 is fine

    Hi, just finished installing my new Aquarite system. I wired it for 240 and there is nothing. No lights, display, etc. I have the jumper between 2 & 3 and tested 120v on legs 1 & 4. Fuse is not blown. So, I figured I would wire to 120v to see what would happen. Hooked jumpers to 1 & 2 and 3 & 4 and reworked the breaker. Works fine. System is energized and generating. Is there something I'm missing as to why this will not work with 240? Thanks in advance!
    18x36 Lagoon vinyl IG DIY sport bottom 3.5-5-3.5 18K gal. Hayward Tri-Star 1 1/2 HP 2 Speed, Hayward 27" 350lb. sand filter, Hayward Aquarite w/ T-15, 1 skimmer, 2 returns, 2 step jets, 4 deck jets, 1 waterfall, TF-100

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Southern Ohio
    Posts
    86

    Re: Aquarite will not run on 240. 120 is fine

    I found it. There is a problem with the GFCI breaker. Testing the individual circuits, I have 120v on each. Testing them together, there is 0. Going to get another breaker and all should be good. I'll update to help anyone else.
    18x36 Lagoon vinyl IG DIY sport bottom 3.5-5-3.5 18K gal. Hayward Tri-Star 1 1/2 HP 2 Speed, Hayward 27" 350lb. sand filter, Hayward Aquarite w/ T-15, 1 skimmer, 2 returns, 2 step jets, 4 deck jets, 1 waterfall, TF-100

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Hope Mills, NC
    Posts
    555

    Re: Aquarite will not run on 240. 120 is fine

    Doesn't seem possible...are you sure that the incoming line to the breaker is 240?
    16 x 32 17500 gallons
    Vinyl in-ground
    Hayward 250# Sand Filter
    1 HP Pump
    Hayward SWG

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Southern Ohio
    Posts
    86

    Re: Aquarite will not run on 240. 120 is fine

    Yes, it is a 240 box that I have my 240 pump, etc. wired into also. Took the breaker to work with me. Definitely defective. It was new, but looks like a defect. One of the contact tabs looks like it is manufactured incorrectly and when testing it, it is acting as a double throw single breaker. Unreal. I think this is the first breaker I've seen fail like this.
    18x36 Lagoon vinyl IG DIY sport bottom 3.5-5-3.5 18K gal. Hayward Tri-Star 1 1/2 HP 2 Speed, Hayward 27" 350lb. sand filter, Hayward Aquarite w/ T-15, 1 skimmer, 2 returns, 2 step jets, 4 deck jets, 1 waterfall, TF-100

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Hope Mills, NC
    Posts
    555

    Re: Aquarite will not run on 240. 120 is fine

    What brand?
    16 x 32 17500 gallons
    Vinyl in-ground
    Hayward 250# Sand Filter
    1 HP Pump
    Hayward SWG

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Southern Ohio
    Posts
    86

    Re: Aquarite will not run on 240. 120 is fine

    It was a Murray GFCB215. In Murray's defense however, it was purchased on eBay as a new one. Seriously doubt that. Has to be a poor renewed one.
    18x36 Lagoon vinyl IG DIY sport bottom 3.5-5-3.5 18K gal. Hayward Tri-Star 1 1/2 HP 2 Speed, Hayward 27" 350lb. sand filter, Hayward Aquarite w/ T-15, 1 skimmer, 2 returns, 2 step jets, 4 deck jets, 1 waterfall, TF-100

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •