paint flaking off ladder

Gx

LifeTime Supporter
May 17, 2013
Lexington, Ky
Hello.

I figure if it is stainless steel, I can/should just strip it & leave it unpainted.
So, how do I know whether it is stainless?

https://goo.gl/photos/SwKEmPErtuptYTT57

If it is not, what is your advice for repair? How to strip? How to paint so it lasts?

The pic with the exposed aggregate is just showing what it has always looked like there.
The hand rail on the shallow steps is also painted white, but it is not flaking off.
This is my 3rd year with an inherited pool.
Thanks.

Hello GX! I see you haven't received a reply yet on your post. I just wanted to let you know we haven't forgotten about you. The server issue has impacted some forum replies. This reply should get your posting updated back to the top of the queue where hopefully someone experienced with your specific question can provide some constructive answers. Thanks for checking-in with TFP, and have a great day.

I'm not a paint expert but here are some thoughts.

You are going to have a hard time figuring out if its stainless. Quality stainless (304 for example) won't attract a normal magnet. But lower quality will.

I'd go to a couple paint stores and explain the problem see what they recommend and then test it on a small inconspicuous part of the ladder.

Remember when reinstalling the ladder to reconnect the bonding wire if there is one.