Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Chlorine Evaporation - Fast!

1. Back To Top    #1

Chlorine Evaporation - Fast!

I'm new to pools and this forum, but look forward to all help on this subject.

I followed directions on the site and got rid of my algae problem. Water looked beautiful afterward.

Then I had an issue with very high CYA. I again followed the directions and drained off about 25% and refilled.

Since then, I continue to have issues with chlorine loss. I switched to liquid chlorine as recommended, but I'm now going through large amounts (at least 1 gal/week). We do experience high day time temps (90+) and significant direct sun.

Here are my pool data:

6700 gallon vinyl liner pool
    TA = 140
    CYA = 60-70
    CH = 350
    pH = 7.5
    TC = 3.0 - this drops to <0.5 within 12-18 hours

Any helpful suggestions are appreciated.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Chlorine Evaporation - Fast!

Welcome to TFP!!!

It is normal to lose 2-3ppm of FC per day to the sun. So a gallon every 4-6 days would be normal.

You are keeping your FC WAY too low and thus are allowing things to start to grow in the water again. With a CYA of 70ppm, your FC should NEVER be allowed to drop below 5ppm ... you should be targeting at least 8ppm everyday. See the FC/CYA Chart.

At this point you may need to follow the ShockLevelAndMAINTAIN Process or at least Perform the Overnight Chlorine Loss Test to see if there is something lurking in the water.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

1 gallon a week is pretty low consumption.