Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 33

Thread: Flashing "Check Flow"

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Flashing "Check Flow"

    New to the site. From what I have read... alot of info. I have a Pool Pilot DIG-220 with the check flow flashing. There is no blockage any where. Took the tri sensor out and checked the flow switch and it is working Any help is greatlly apreciated. Leave in Florida cell is #48.
    Thanks

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Flashing "Check Flow"

    Welcome to TFP!

    There are a couple of possibilities. The most likely is that you are not getting the 15 to 20 GPM that the flow sensor is looking for. If you have a two speed pump try turning it to high speed. Try backwashing/cleaning the filter. Also, check the skimmer baskets to make sure they are clear, clean out the pump strainer basket, and check the strainer in the AutoPilot manifold and make sure it is clean.

    It is also possible that the flow sensor cord is not properly connected, check both ends. Depending on your setup it is possible for some valve to be in the wrong position and for that to be reducing the flow. It is possible that the flow sensor is damaged in some way, and requires a much higher flow than it should to trigger, or the spring on the bypass valve in the AutoPilot manifold could be broken, letting too much flow bypass the sensor, but both of those seem unlikely.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Rockville, CA
    Posts
    99

    Re: Flashing "Check Flow"

    Check the flow sensor wire for any small nicks that are not readily apparent through visual inspection. I didn't find the damaged wire until I took out the entire wire assembly and ran it through my fingers. I also cleaned my SWG with muriatic acid as advised by the Goldline rep.
    20K inground gunite w/ Aqua Logic automation and chlorination Sta-Rite 400 K natural gas heater and cartridge filter 2 HP pump 1.5 HP spa bubbler for spillover spa 1 HP dedicated Letro Legend cleaner
    H2O: two parts Heart and one part Obsession. ~Author Unknown

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: Flashing "Check Flow"

    Thanks for the help. I have double checked the flow switch and it is working with the pump on. Getting enough pressure. Checked all fuses. I noticed that when I go into Test System I am not getting a reading for salt. It is reading 00ppm. Don't know if this is the problem. A few days ago I had 3000ppm. I hope it is not one of the circuit boards. Thanks

  5. Back To Top    #5
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Flashing "Check Flow"

    The salt sensor shares the same wire with the flow sensor, both are part of the tri-sensor assembly at the top of the manifold. If the salt sensor is also not working, that strongly suggests a problem with the cable. As flintstone said, it is possible for the wire to be damaged and yet look fine to a casual inspection.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,455

    Re: Flashing "Check Flow"

    Sorry for the delay in responding but another place to check is the tri-sensor connector itself. There should be 6 pins. If one is bent, it can cause a flow, salt, or temperature error.
    The fact that you have a flow AND salt error may be the connector, but sounds more like Jason and Flinstone's reply of checking the tri-sensor cable.
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    National Accounts and Commercial Products Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Re: Flashing "Check Flow"

    Thanks for the info. I checked point to point on the tri sensor cable and all checks out. All have continunity. I removed the tri sensor and inspected all six pins, no ploblems there. I had the chemistry checked just in case if it was so far out, the pool pilot shut down. All chemicals are in line. Any more suggestions?? Please help.
    Thanks Nick

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,455

    Re: Flashing "Check Flow"

    Check the bypass valve to see if it may be stuck in the opened position. You should have a clear/opaque body check valve. On the inlet side, there should be a visible red gasket.
    Turn the pump off to make sure it is full seated closed.
    Then turn the pump on and check if this gasket has opened as well. This should open about 1/4" to 1/2".
    Repeat if you're not able to see this.
    If it stays opened, there may be debris keeping it opened and not allowing the proper flow throught the tri-sensor to activate the flow switch.

    If the check valve is working properly, remove the tri-sensor from the DIG-220 unit.
    With the system running, use a wire jumper to touch the center two connector pins on the base of the DIG-220. These are the flow switch pins and is low voltage.
    This should get rid of the display, which indicates that the problem is not in the power supply.

    You can also check continuity on the tri-sensor cord and the tri-sensor. I've attached a document to diagnose these, along with the wire to pin positions.

    Let me know if this helps.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    National Accounts and Commercial Products Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Re: Flashing "Check Flow"

    Thanks Poolsean
    I have checked the by pass valve and it is working. I checked visually and I disconnected the tri sensor cable and jumped pins 1 and 2 (red & white) display still read an error "check flow". I also disconnected the tri sensor cable at the main unit and used a meter to check contiunity of the flow switch when I turned on the pump. Flow switch close. At this point I think I need to purchase a new Pool Pilot. Any more suggestions would be appreciated. I'll try anything. Thanks Nick

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,455

    Re: Flashing "Check Flow"

    Nick,

    I sent you a PM a few days back.
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    National Accounts and Commercial Products Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Re: Flashing "Check Flow"

    Thanks Sean for your reply
    I have been away and today is the day I was able to some more checking. I removed the tri sensor cable from the DIG 220 box and used a jumper to jump the red and white wire at the main unit. the results no change. It still indicated "check flow" With that there is nothing wrong with the tri sensor cable. When I first checked the unit this morning it seems that temp and salt (ppm) were out of wack. To the best of my knowledge this unit is out of warranty. The s/n is CG0052160099 ( I believe) Again any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks Nick

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Re: Flashing "Check Flow"

    Did you ever find the problem with your flow switch? I am having the exact same trouble. After two years I started getting a check flow warning. Everything seems fine, flow rate seems fine, all the filters are clean, etc. I even replaced the tri sensor (twice actually) but STILL get the check flow warning. I will have to inspect the wire, etc., but this seems very tricky to troubleshoot. If you found the answer I would like to know before I spend more time and money troubleshooting. Thanks.

    By the way, I noticed the problem started after I used a "Green to Clean" product, but I have used it before. Could this product cause the tri sensor to malfunction??

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,455

    Re: Flashing "Check Flow"

    flguy,

    two tri-sensors replaced? Are you installing the tri-sensor in the correct direction? The stainless steel paddle with the round magnetic puck attached to it, should push against the center gray post when the flow hits it. There's also a plastic "arrow" on the side of the tri-sensor that should point in the direction of the flow.
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    National Accounts and Commercial Products Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Re: Flashing "Check Flow"

    By the way, I am now seeing the exact same problem (check flow, even though flow is good) and 000 salt PPM. Starting the diag/web searching now.
    20x40 Kafko pool, Pentaire SD80 filter, Intelliflow pump, 8 foot deep end, Autopilot

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Re: Flashing "Check Flow"

    Hi All,

    Having same problem - thought it was the tri-sensor which I have the replacement for but cannot figure out how to remove the old one. Any hints?

    Also, I think my problem might be a flow issue as I am currently only seeing about 10 gpm. I backwashed, check all the filter baskets, etc. Any suggestions?

    Thanks -
    6500 gal pool
    cartridge filter
    inground pool
    plaster finish
    1hp pump

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,455

    Re: Flashing "Check Flow"

    Deborah,

    The tri-sensor is replaced by removing the two screws on the side of the TEE assembly. The Tri-sensor is inserted and sealed by compression and an o-ring. Once the screws are removed, you will most likely need some channel lock pliers to grab it. Twist back and forth while forcing it out of the TEE.
    Make sure to add some lube on the oring when you put the new one in. Also, very important, make sure you align the direction of the flow paddle with the direction of the water flow.

    You mentioned that you have 10 gpm? That sounds like either a pump failure, improperly positioned valves, or very dirty skimmer basket, pump basket, and/or filter. That doesn't sound like an AutoPilot related problem, but it sounds like the AutoPilot is shutting down the cell under the flow protection, as it should.

    Let me know what you find.
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    National Accounts and Commercial Products Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

  17. Back To Top    #17

    Re: Flashing "Check Flow"

    Hello,

    Thanks for the help - I cleaned out the impellar which fixed the pressure issue. I was still getting the Check Flow error so I cleaned both the cell and the tri-sensor with a water/acid mix. That did the trick! The troubleshooting guide should really mention that in the same sentence that says "replace tri-sensor". (it probably states it somewhere else)

    Thanks again,

    Deborah
    6500 gal pool
    cartridge filter
    inground pool
    plaster finish
    1hp pump

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,455

    Re: Flashing "Check Flow"

    glad to help
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    National Accounts and Commercial Products Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

  19. Back To Top    #19

    Re: Flashing "Check Flow"

    Does the tri-sensor just slide out. Mine is stuck and i an unsure on how to remove. Started down this path when i noticed the flashing check flow and my pump would not turn on. Checked voltage at the terminals but no 220v.

    Dave
    14,500 Gallon, Pebble Sheen, Spa – Jandy inteliflow, Jandy filter, Jandy Heater (Gas) Haywood Color logic 4.5 x 3 - Novice but spending freely

  20. Back To Top    #20

    Re: Flashing "Check Flow"

    After reading all post found the reply to Deborah explaining how to remove the tri-sensor. Thanks got it out and will clean it now.

    Dave
    14,500 Gallon, Pebble Sheen, Spa – Jandy inteliflow, Jandy filter, Jandy Heater (Gas) Haywood Color logic 4.5 x 3 - Novice but spending freely

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •