Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Do I need to refill? Stupid Low pH and lots of copper in water test.

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Loveland, Colorado
    Posts
    16

    Do I need to refill? Stupid Low pH and lots of copper in water test.

    Greetings. I'm supposedly in a world of hurt, according to the pool store and my water test. They gave me a $400 shopping list - or - said to drain and refill. Can I get some advice on here? The pool was completely neglected last year because of a death in the family - just chlorine went in, nothing else. We put in 10,000 gallons when we opened it last weekend...but, I guess that didn't help dilute any issues.

    40,000-45,000 gallon pool - gunite, fiberglassed, no heater.

    They said the biggest issues are metals in the water and a stupid-low pH.

    Here are the results (I have no clue what all of these are):
    Saturation Idx: -4.5
    TDS:200
    CYA 60
    Tot. Chlorine: 0.8
    Free Chlorine: 0.7
    pH: <6.6 (said they can't measure below 6.6)
    Tot alk: 0
    Adj Tot Alk: 0
    Total Hardness:7
    Copper: 1.8
    Iron: 0.3

    Should we stay out of the pool? Should we drain and refill? Draining and refilling will cost about $150 here.

    Thanks for your help.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: Do I need to refill? Stupid Low pH and lots of copper in water test.

    If you believe the pool store test results, they're right. Draining is your best option with all those metals in the water. We can only hope the copper came from some miracle ionizer system or algaecide.

    First, order your own proper test kit, so when you have it refilled, you're ready to take control immediately. You'll need it whether you drain or not.
    Second, drain and refill. Not sure where you're from (please fill out location and signature) so you may need to worry about floating the pool up out of the ground if there's water close to the surface.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    23,994

    Re: Do I need to refill? Stupid Low pH and lots of copper in water test.

    PH can be fixed easily enough. Copper, not so much. Where did all that copper come from? 0.3ppm can cause staining and green hair.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Loveland, Colorado
    Posts
    16

    Re: Do I need to refill? Stupid Low pH and lots of copper in water test.

    I have no idea where the copper came from - maybe from the copper pipes on the returns. However, those returns haven't been used in a couple of years because of a leak. We have actually been 'redneck' returning water to the pool through a firehose. Fun fun. Time to put some PVC on the deck for some more respectable returns. Hmmmm...maybe there is copper in the fittings on the firehose. I don't know. Time to drain I guess. Then start from scratch. Two days to drain, 3 days to fill.

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Do I need to refill? Stupid Low pH and lots of copper in water test.

    How were you adding chlorine?

    By letting the TA and pH get that low, you could have been dissolving the copper pipes into the water (although less likely if water was not passing through them).

    Even if you do drain, you still need to invest in one of the Recommended Test Kits.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Loveland, Colorado
    Posts
    16

    Re: Do I need to refill? Stupid Low pH and lots of copper in water test.

    Chlorine tabs have always been added in the skimmer basket. I've now learned that is a No No. So, yeah...perhaps we did cause our own problem.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •