Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Pentair VS Pump and Hayward Aqualogic Controller

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    104

    Pentair VS Pump and Hayward Aqualogic Controller

    Was hoping to get some assistance with programming my new pump. As I understand the Hayward aqualogic cannot provide an interface with the VS pump. With this in mind I have it set so that the aqualogic provides power to the pump twice a day through the timers menu. When this happens the pump turns on to whatever the last selected speed was on the pump panel. Without purchasing a separate controller is there a way to program the pump to run at different speeds during the time the aqualogic is providing power? As an example could I use the aqualogic to set the first run time of the pump from 6am to 7am and concurrently use the pump interface to indicate that between these times the pump run at high speed for skimming. Then for the 2nd run time set it up say from 7am to noon and concurrently use the pump interface to indicate that between these times have the pump run at say 1500 rpm for filtering? Hopefully using the right terminology here so it makes sense. Appreciate any assistance.
    1) 15000 Gallons Gunite
    2) Sand
    3) In Ground
    4) Pentair Intelliflo VS
    5) SWG

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Texas Splash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    South-Central Texas, Marion/San Antonio
    Posts
    12,943

    Re: Pentair VS Pump and Hayward Aqualogic Controller

    Eric, we haven't forgotten about you. Your question is best-suited for a specific audience that just hasn't caught-up to all the threads yet this morning ..... or are still having a late coffee. Hang in there and someone will get with you soon. Have a good day.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.
    If you enjoyed your TFP experience, please consider donating to Support TFP!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    In the Industry

    bdavis466's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Posts
    3,284

    Re: Pentair VS Pump and Hayward Aqualogic Controller

    You might better off wiring the pump to have constant power independent of the Aqualogic. You can then use the built in timer on the pump to set your schedules which would be far less complicated and you don't need to buy any additional equipment.
    -Brian-
    33K Pool/Spa, Pentair Equipment
    POOL BUILD
    Davis Custom Construction - Home Page

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    104

    Re: Pentair VS Pump and Hayward Aqualogic Controller

    Thanks Brian. I believe the pump already is wired for constant power. The reason I say this is because even when the aqualogic timer is set for the pump not to run the panel on the intelliflo has power to the display. I didn't wire this in as I had a service company install but would this sound right?
    1) 15000 Gallons Gunite
    2) Sand
    3) In Ground
    4) Pentair Intelliflo VS
    5) SWG

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    23,994

    Re: Pentair VS Pump and Hayward Aqualogic Controller

    Yes, pretty sure if it is on it is on. My VS pump is wired directly to the breaker and when I turn off the breaker the display is off. It might be possible that one leg of the 220 is wired direct and powering the control panel and the other leg is wired through the aqualogic.

    Agree with bdavis to use the built in timer function on the pump to control stop/start times and pump speed.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    104

    Re: Pentair VS Pump and Hayward Aqualogic Controller

    So assuming there's already constant power, will the built in timer on the intelliflo function to turn the pump on, even if the pump is not being indicated as turned on from the aqualogic?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Also if using the timer on the pump will I have any issues with the swcg? As in does the aqualogic control require that the logic show that the pump is on prior to allowing the swcg to start working?
    1) 15000 Gallons Gunite
    2) Sand
    3) In Ground
    4) Pentair Intelliflo VS
    5) SWG

  7. Back To Top    #7

    In the Industry

    bdavis466's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Posts
    3,284

    Re: Pentair VS Pump and Hayward Aqualogic Controller

    If you are using the comm cable off the pump to the Aqualogic, then disconnect it. The pump will run on its own through its own internal timer.

    The SWG has a flow switch that will not allow it to function without water flowing so the pump would need to be on for it to work.
    -Brian-
    33K Pool/Spa, Pentair Equipment
    POOL BUILD
    Davis Custom Construction - Home Page

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •