Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: New 16' x 48" Coleman set up/startup, want to make sure I'm doing this right

1. Back To Top    #1

New 16' x 48" Coleman set up/startup, want to make sure I'm doing this right

This is my first ever pool, so I'm a complete novice. I've done quite a bit of reading here on TFP, and although I think I have a grasp on it, I wanted to ask the experts to be sure.

After a month of digging (14" into the slope), leveling, setting up and plumbing, I finally got my AGP set up. Based on 5500 Gallons, I added 135lbs of salt and 3lbs 11oz of CYA. Using the K-2006 test kit, I got the following:

FC: 0
    pH: 7.4
    TA: 140
    CH: 140
    CYA: (just added, so didn't test)

(Side note: the Taylor Speedstir is awesome!)

The SWG instructions mention running a "Boost" cycle to get things going, but I've read that I can kick-start the process by adding chlorine. According to PoolMath, to get to the ideal FC of 5, I should add 57oz of 6.5% bleach. Is this the better way to go, or should I just "Boost" the SWG?

The TA is higher than the recommended 60-80. Should I work on getting the FC and CYA numbers where they need to be before I work on the TA?

Thanks,

Dave
    Coleman 16' x 48" AG, Sandpro 75D 3/4HP Pump/Sand filter, Intex SWG, Hayward SP1091LX Skimmer and 2 Hayward returns, hard piped, K-2006, K-1766 Test kits w/Speedstir and Samplesizer

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: New 16' x 48" Coleman set up/startup, want to make sure I'm doing this right

FC and CYA are most important to get in line first. Your pH looks good so no worries there. I would add the liquid chlorine/bleach myself to get the FC up immediately then work on dialing in your SWG output and run time from there to keep it in the recommended range for your CYA. See the CYA/Chlorine chart link in my signature.