Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Another slightly different "No Cell power" situation causing power problems to pump.

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Rolesville, NC
    Posts
    4

    Another slightly different "No Cell power" situation causing power problems to pump.

    I'm having a related issue, I was getting the "No cell power" message and just maintained chlorine manually. Now having pump power issues. 2 speed motor; On high speed, voltage of 120 only on the one high speed line in, on low speed, voltage of 120 on common, hi, and low ! Any idea's ?

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Another slightly different "No Cell power" situation causing power problems to pu

    Welcome to TFP!!!

    Sounds like something is not wired correctly. Has it ever worked correctly?
    We are going to need more info and likely pictures of your wiring/switches/timers and equipment.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Rolesville, NC
    Posts
    4

    Re: Another slightly different "No Cell power" situation causing power problems to pu

    Has been working fine for 7 years, except for the chlorinator and the "No cell power" issue.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Another slightly different "No Cell power" situation causing power problems to pu

    I guess I am not clear what you are asking about ... the SWG saying no cell power or the 2-speed pump clearly not being powered correctly. I can not see how one would create the other.

    Please add your pool details to your signature as described HERE as it will help us help you.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Rolesville, NC
    Posts
    4

    Re: Another slightly different "No Cell power" situation causing power problems to pu

    2 issues, 1st is the "No cell power" which has been going on for 2 seasons now and I'm just maintaining the chlorine manually. 2nd, new issue is the pump stopped working, trips breaker on low and just doesn't work on high. Nothing has been changed on the wiring. Voltage at the motor measures 120 at the red hi speed line only and nothing on the common or low speed lines while control set for HI speed. While set for Low speed, the voltage measures 120 on all 3 wires.

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Another slightly different "No Cell power" situation causing power problems to pu

    Are you measure the voltage to ground?

    You need to trace the power lines back through any switches and timers to the circuit breaker and find the problem.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Rolesville, NC
    Posts
    4

    Re: Another slightly different "No Cell power" situation causing power problems to pu

    Yes, voltages measured to ground. I'll work backwards to the relays, and then backwards the rest of the way. Thank you.
    Last edited by dwhite1963; 06-15-2015 at 03:14 PM. Reason: Added signature
    18K gal, IG plaster, 1 1/2 HP Hayward Tristar 2 speed SP32152EE pump, cartridge filter Hayward C5025, SWG Aqualogic controller. Install 2007.

  8. Back To Top    #8
    n240sxguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Benton, KY
    Posts
    1,800

    Re: Another slightly different "No Cell power" situation causing power problems to pu

    You should only see 120v when measuring to ground. There should be one common line that always has 120v when power is applied. Either the high or low will have 120v depending on which position the switch is in. You should read 240v between the high or low line, and the common line. Since you have voltage on the high line only when on high, and on all three when on low, it sounds like there may be more than one problem. The switch may be faulty. That would explain the voltage on all three lines. It does not explain why the common line has intermittent power. If you are mistaken about the common line, then that would make more sense as far as the switch being faulty, and the common line really being the one that always has power.
    30K gallon IG vinyl. 1.5HP 2-speed Waterway Mustang pump. 600 lb sand filter. Polaris 280. Circupool SI-60+. TF-100

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •