Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: New Test Kit TF-100 - 1st test results

1. Back To Top    #1

Smile New Test Kit TF-100 - 1st test results

Hi all,

Out pool is new and we still haven't hooked up the salt cell so we are manually chlorinating for another week or two. We are swimming and I think the water is ok but this morning I tested using the TF-100 and below are the results:

pH: 7.8
    FC: 4 ppm
    CC: 0 ppm
    TC: 4 ppm
    TA: 50
    CYA: not sure...I followed the directions but I could continue to see the black dot even after all of the solution was poured into the cyclinder

Looks like I have no Combined Chloramines - should I be concerned about that? Also, TA is low, according to the directions it should be around 100-120. And what about the CYA?

I'm new to this, so I'm not sure what the right adjustments are to make.

thank you
    My Pool: 19,000 gallon In-Ground Screen Enclosed, Finish: NPT StoneScapes Mini Pebble Tropics Blue, Controller/Heater: Hayward ProLogic P4 w/T-15 SWG
    Pool Filter: Hayward Cartridge Star Clear Plus, Pool Pump: Hayward VSP SP3400VSP, No Spa, TF-100 Test Kit.
    Pool Installation: Plaster Complete 5/23/2015

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: New Test Kit TF-100 - 1st test results

No CC is good! You always want less than .5. Being a new pool though, make sure you follow your builder's recommendations for plaster and check out this link: Pool School - Start-up New Plaster

Once you know for sure you can adjust the levels and add more stabilizer, just follow the recommendation level and Chlorine/CYA chart links below in my sig.

If you continue to have problems reading CYA, we can help.

- - - Updated - - -

By the way - Congrats on the test kit! Best thing you could do for your pool, sanity, and pocketbook.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir