Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Low PH and Alkalinity. Helping a neighbor out.

1. Back To Top    #1

Low PH and Alkalinity. Helping a neighbor out.

So i have been doing the BBB method for 2 years and love it. I have a neighbor with an above ground pool who says he has been having a yellow dusting on the bottom of his pool and only tests with test strips. Pool looked pretty good with a couple spots that look like it could be mustard algae or pollen behind the ladder. he says he spent the last couple days vacuuming the pool and adding chemicals to raise FC. I took my trusty kit over and took some quick measurements

FC - 12
    CC - 0
    PH - 6.2 or less(definitely not any shade on the test kit)
    ALK - 10??? didn't even turn green when i added the R-0008 solution and got a bit brighter after adding just 1 drop of the R-0009.
    CYA - 40 to 50
    CH - 130

First question. With CC's at 0 could the yellow stuff be mustard algae? I always thought that if you are actually trying to get rid of an algae bloom then you would have an elevated CC. My second guess is it could be pollen.

Second question. My buddy is real hard headed dude and it's very hard to convince the guy. He says that if the chlorine level is in range and the pool looks clear that he doesn't have to mess with PH and ALK and thats why is numbers are so low. Besides knowing what google can tell us what are the major effects of the low PH and Alk. I mean it mostly talks about it ruining equipment and possibly hurting your eyes with a high PH. How can i convince the dude to level his PH and Alk levels. It's quite obvious that if the pool is clear and chlorine level is high he thinks there is no damage going on.

- - - Updated - - -

Wow i had to go back 3 times and try to figure out my curse word so i could post this....haha. it's a darn shame...hahaha
    27,000 gal. vinyl inground.
    Dyna glas 1.5H pump
    Triton II TR-100 sand filter