Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Newbie has question about chlorine

1. Back To Top    #1

Newbie has question about chlorine

Hi. We recently drained and refilled our IG 22000g guinite pool. This is my first year to follow the TFP method and it has been great! In fact things are going to good which has me worried that maybe it really isn't correct . 4 days ago I added a gallon and a half of bleach, added baking soda, stabilizer in a sock and then the next day Borax. My numbers have been good except for CH (very low) and I just bought some to add. CYA is a tad low but from what I have read it takes about a week to kick in. My main concern/ question is my chlorine level today (3 days since adding bleach) is still 4. Which is my target level. But shouldn't I be having to add chlorine daily? Or is it possible that because my pool is is shade most of the day it just isn't being burned up? My pool is crystal clear and looks great but it seems to good to be true. Lol.
    In ground Guinite pool 22,000g. Hayward filter system, using Taylor K-2006 for testing, totally new to this whole pool thing. Located in Tennessee.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Newbie has question about chlorine

assuming it was 8.25 bleach you added
    1.5 gallons would give you 4.6ppm fc
    as it is fresh fill and shade and water is still cold,
    it is possible you haven't lost any fc yet
    but i would suspect it was a higher strength you added
    SWG inground peanut shaped eco-bright concrete pool
    50,000 litres 13,000 gallons
    Lincoln Salt Chlorinator, 25 gram cell Sand Filter with glass media
    Taylor K2006-C test kit, Taylor K-1766 salt test, Dolphin M500 pool cleaner
    are you taking care of your pool or is the poolshop taking care of you

3. Back To Top    #3