Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: First time pool owner, low alkalinity

1. Back To Top    #1

First time pool owner, low alkalinity

Hello! This is my first time opening a pool, and I'd love some advice. It's a small underground pool, about 7,000 gallons. We had it opened 5 days ago, and after shocking, backflushing, cleaning, etc, it is finally crystal clear. However, the chlorine and ph are still very high, but the alkalinity is really low (previous owners said that the alkalinity always read low, and they trashed their pool heater because of it). I ordered a TF100 test kit this morning, but currently am using strips to read. I know I need better numbers, but should I add something to the pool today to help get the alkalinity up? Like baking soda? Thank you so much!

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: First time pool owner, low alkalinity

wouldn't make ANY adjustments to chemicals until you get your TF100. for now just keep chlorine and pH stable. only time you need to worry about TA is if you pH is constantly high, which typically means you need to lower your TA...so opposite of what you are thinking. TA is one of the last things you need to worry about. First and most importantly is getting an accurate CYA (stabilizer) reading so you can get your chlorine in the correct level based on that.

if your chlorine level is high and not dropping quick, that's a good thing. it means you don't have algae consuming it. keep your chlorine up (doesn't sound like an issue) and hold out for that test.

high chlorine can also show falsely high pH as well.
    Dan
    9,000 gallon in-ground Saltwater pool, plaster, cartridge filer, 1.0 hp pump, Hayward T-15 SWCG, TF-100
    Pool School - Chlorine / CYA Chart; Pool School - Test Kits Compared;

3. Back To Top    #3