Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: NEWBIE - just tested for first time - Need help please! :)

1. Back To Top    #1

NEWBIE - just tested for first time - Need help please! :)

Hi. I have an inground gunite pool 22,000g. Recently drained and refilled it. Added some Clorox and baking soda yesterday and have a sock full of stabilizer in the return. Purchased a Taylor K-2006 today and just tested. Here are my results. Could you please suggest what I need to do next and in what order? We are having a pool party Saturday (I know - to late to cancel) and I am trying to get the water correct. Right now it looks clear.

4 ppm FC
    .5 ppm CC
    pH was less than 7 (color was lighter than the 7 reading)
    50ppm total alkalinity test
    25 ppm Cyanuric test (had to fill to the very top for black dot to go away)

Any help would be appreciated. And I am a newbie so if you can explain in easy terms I would appreciate it. Thanks in advance for your help!!
    In ground Guinite pool 22,000g. Hayward filter system, using Taylor K-2006 for testing, totally new to this whole pool thing. Located in Tennessee.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: NEWBIE - just tested for first time - Need help please! :)

Add baking soda to raise the TA to 70ppm
    Check pH to make sure it is in the 7s (add borax to raise it if needed).
    How much CYA did you add? Did you use PoolMath and what was your target?

Maintain the FC above the minimum for your CYA according to the FC/CYA Chart.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

Welcome Whitney!