Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Pool Owner - Ready to Test WQ

1. Back To Top    #1

New Pool Owner - Ready to Test WQ

My name is Earl. Me, my wife, and two kids are in the process of buying a new home that has an in-ground swimming pool. I'm an Environmental Engineer, so I'm anxious to do some water quality testing and to utilize the TFP techniques. We're not in the house yet, but i have checked out the equipment and purchased a Taylor K-2006 Test Kit. I've entered some estimates of the pool equipment into my signature. Once i have more information I'll update it. I know very little about pool maintenance, but I'm extremely interested in keeping my pool at its optimal condition. I look forward to interacting on the Forum. Thanks for having me!!!!
    23,000 gallons, chlorine, Hayward sand filter, two-speed pump, 2 below-deck skimmers, cascading water return feature with two sub-surface returns, vegetative landscaping and rocks along edge, some gunite surface degradation. CYA issue detected, Lowered from 200 to 45 over four drain/replaces, SLAM test results (Taylor K-2006) - FC = 18 - 25 ppm, CC = 0 to 0.5 ppm, ph = 7.2 (pre-slam), TA = 150 ppm, CH = 70 ppm, CYA = 45 ppm.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: New Pool Owner - Ready to Test WQ

Welcome to TFP!!!

Good on you for getting a good test kit right away

How does the water look in the pool?
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3