Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: Why Do Filter Pressure Gauges Go to 60 PSI?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Moorpark, CA
    Posts
    171

    Why Do Filter Pressure Gauges Go to 60 PSI?

    My filter pressure gauge window is cloudy, so I would like to replace it. I noticed pool filters ship with 60 psi gauges. My filter is dirty is needs backwashing with flow way down (need parts to attach backwash hose yet), and it is only reading to 21 psi. Can the pressure actually approach 60 psi, or even get over 30 psi?
    Michael

    20,000 gallon in-ground gunite/plaster pool (1992), attached spa with spillway, Pentair Superflo 1.5 HP pump, Smith booster pump for pool sweep, Pentair 2000 DE filter, Sta Rite Max-E-Therm 400 heater, Silencer Blower 2 HP for spa, Polaris 280 pool sweep.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad JohnT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SW Indiana
    Posts
    9,089

    Re: Why Do Filter Pressure Gauges Go to 60 PSI?

    It can get over 30psi, but it isn't going to approach 60.
    TFP Moderator
    20K Gallon 20X36 Vinyl Inground
    Hayward S244T Sand Filter with 1HP Whisperflo Pump. Liquidator C-201 and Solar Heat

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    2,670

    Re: Why Do Filter Pressure Gauges Go to 60 PSI?

    A lot of the members have switched to using these gauges from TFTestkits.net, TFTestkits.net. They only go up to 30 psi but I don't think anyone has had a problem with that. What is the highest pressure you have seen on your gauge?
    16k gal plaster with raised spa, Jandy DEV60 filter, 2 HP 2-speed SHPF Jandy Stealth pump
    Hayward Aqua Rite T-15 SWCG, Jandy LXi 400k BTU NG heater, 350 sq.ft. of Sun Star solar panels, TF-100 Test Kit, Dolphin s300i Cleaner
    Test Kits . Pool Math . Chlorine/CYA Chart . The SLAM Process

  4. Back To Top    #4

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,082

    Re: Why Do Filter Pressure Gauges Go to 60 PSI?

    Mas985, our pump and hydraulics guru, reports that pool pumps do not get over 35 psi and that would be a complete blockage of the pump.

    Factory gauges mostly are cheap and go all the way to 60 because somebody didn't think it through, IMO. The 30 psi liquid filled are a true step up....larger, more precise, freeze-protect to -4 F.

    I think the only reported psi in excess of 30 here on the forum is because the gauge was broken.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Moorpark, CA
    Posts
    171

    Re: Why Do Filter Pressure Gauges Go to 60 PSI?

    The most I've seen on the gauge is 21.5 psi. That's why I thought a 30 psi gauge would be better suited to seeing the pressure at a glance, and would be more accurate, too.

    I appreciate everyone's input. Interesting reading!
    Michael

    20,000 gallon in-ground gunite/plaster pool (1992), attached spa with spillway, Pentair Superflo 1.5 HP pump, Smith booster pump for pool sweep, Pentair 2000 DE filter, Sta Rite Max-E-Therm 400 heater, Silencer Blower 2 HP for spa, Polaris 280 pool sweep.

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Pool Tool's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Western Chicago Area, IL
    Posts
    754

    Re: Why Do Filter Pressure Gauges Go to 60 PSI?

    Gauges are generally the most accurate at 50% of their range, i.e. a 60 psi gauge will be the most accurate at 30 psi. Also, your filter is probably rated at 50 psi, so the manufacturer should spec a gauge that would show if you are approaching its operating range. I think they pick a gauge to safeguard the equipment they supply and that is most accurate for most applications.
    16' x 32' (21100 gal), vinyl, 1.5 hp Hayward SuperPump,
    Tagelus TA60/60D Sand Filter, Raypak 399K Digital Heater, TF-100

  7. Back To Top    #7

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,082

    Re: Why Do Filter Pressure Gauges Go to 60 PSI?

    Also, your filter is probably rated at 50 psi, so the manufacturer should spec a gauge that would show if you are approaching its operating range.
    But unneeded unless you have a pool pump capable of getting it there.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Skitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Athens, Georgia
    Posts
    103

    Re: Why Do Filter Pressure Gauges Go to 60 PSI?

    My gauge stopped working last week so I ordered a new one from TFTestkits and was surprised by how easy it was to remove the old one and attach the new one. Hand tighten is right!
    18k gal AG Sand Filter K-2006

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Pool Tool's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Western Chicago Area, IL
    Posts
    754

    Re: Why Do Filter Pressure Gauges Go to 60 PSI?

    I absolutely agree and use a tft 30# liquid filled gauge. Probably a case where the filter manufacturer is specifying the gauge to their filter independent of other equipment and factors. Most pressures seems to be in the 10-20 psi range, where the 30 psi gauge is the best.
    16' x 32' (21100 gal), vinyl, 1.5 hp Hayward SuperPump,
    Tagelus TA60/60D Sand Filter, Raypak 399K Digital Heater, TF-100

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Isaac-1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SW Louisiana
    Posts
    6,711

    Re: Why Do Filter Pressure Gauges Go to 60 PSI?

    I can see that as a liability issue, after all who knows how people will hook stuff up. I remember years ago taking a class where we had a guest lecturer on the topic of liability, one of his case examples was a water filter that exploded at a laundromat in Florida. Lawyers were of course involved, as it turns out someone had installed a common pool sand filter to filter water for the washing machines, over time it clogged up and pressure went up, then boom. The sad thing is the manufacturer was found liable even though it was not being used as intended.
    Indoor 20x40 35,000 gallon vinyl pool with 1.5 HP 2 speed Jandy FloPro pump, Hayward EC75 Perflex DE filter, 11 4x12 Techno-Solis solar panels w/ Aquasolar controller, Aquabot Turbo T Robot Cleaner. Also LMI metering chlorine dispenser pump and HotSpring Jetsetter
    I use and endorse TFtestKits TF-100 from http://tftestkits.net
    ~Remember TFP counts on your donations to keep this site ad free~

  11. Back To Top    #11
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Why Do Filter Pressure Gauges Go to 60 PSI?

    Quote Originally Posted by Isaac-1 View Post
    I can see that as a liability issue, after all who knows how people will hook stuff up. I remember years ago taking a class where we had a guest lecturer on the topic of liability, one of his case examples was a water filter that exploded at a laundromat in Florida. Lawyers were of course involved, as it turns out someone had installed a common pool sand filter to filter water for the washing machines, over time it clogged up and pressure went up, then boom. The sad thing is the manufacturer was found liable even though it was not being used as intended.
    Grrr ... that annoys me about our legal system. How can a company be liable for misuse of product?
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Cleveland, TN
    Posts
    4

    Re: Why Do Filter Pressure Gauges Go to 60 PSI?

    I would think they probably use the 60 PSI in other gauges they make that are not just pool gauges, but for more sophisticated applications. That is one less part they have to make and keep that would work on multiple gauge products.
    16 x 32 inground liner pool - surrounded by concrete deck. Built 1984. Liner last replaced 2012. 4 foot deep on shallow end and 9 foot deep on other end with diving board. Hayward 1 horse Super Pump. Hayward S244S High rate sand filter with side plumbed Vari-Flo Valve. Located in Cleveland, TN.

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Carlsbad, NM
    Posts
    165

    Re: Why Do Filter Pressure Gauges Go to 60 PSI?

    My filter runs at 18-19 clean and has went to 32+ when dirty. 60 psi is perfect because operating range is close to mid range.
    36' x 18' 20k in ground, Finest Finish grey plaster, Pentair Tagelus 100D sand filter, Hayward Northstar 2hp pump, Jandy LRZ125EN heater, spill over spa, iaqualink controlled automation, Stenner chlorination, natural rock and flagstone coping, 1" glass mosaic waterline tile, SR Smith Vortex slide.

  14. Back To Top    #14
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Why Do Filter Pressure Gauges Go to 60 PSI?

    But you should be cleaning the filter at a 20-25% rise over the clean pressure ... which for a clean of 18-19psi would be at 22-23psi.

    60psi gauges are pointless in 99+% of pools.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Carlsbad, NM
    Posts
    165

    Re: Why Do Filter Pressure Gauges Go to 60 PSI?

    Quote Originally Posted by jblizzle View Post
    But you should be cleaning the filter at a 20-25% rise over the clean pressure ... which for a clean of 18-19psi would be at 22-23psi.

    60psi gauges are pointless in 99+% of pools.
    Why do the mfgs use 60 PSI? The reason is if the pump can produce the pressure, you should be able to monitor it. My car has a 180mph speedometer, don't use much more than half of it either. I backwash at 25psi or so. Been doing it that way for 16 years now with no issues.
    36' x 18' 20k in ground, Finest Finish grey plaster, Pentair Tagelus 100D sand filter, Hayward Northstar 2hp pump, Jandy LRZ125EN heater, spill over spa, iaqualink controlled automation, Stenner chlorination, natural rock and flagstone coping, 1" glass mosaic waterline tile, SR Smith Vortex slide.

  16. Back To Top    #16

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,082

    Re: Why Do Filter Pressure Gauges Go to 60 PSI?

    I backwash at 25psi or so. Been doing it that way for 16 years now with no issues.
    The chances are quite good that you are using more electricity than necessary. a clean psi of 18-19 is pretty high to begin with and if you get to 30 or so, your flow restriction is such that your system is noticeably less efficient.

    I would figure out why your psi is so high to begin with but even then you should be backwashing around 23 for best efficiency.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  17. Back To Top    #17

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Moorpark, CA
    Posts
    171

    Re: Why Do Filter Pressure Gauges Go to 60 PSI?

    I ordered this 0-30 psi 4.5" gauge from Home Depot. This should be easy to read from a distance. It's funny that it doesn't come up in the Home Depot search, but Google found it. It's +/- 1% accuracy over the full range. It has an acrylic lens, so should last with the outdoor UV exposure.

    http://www.homedepot.com/p/Winters-I...21LF/205389322
    Michael

    20,000 gallon in-ground gunite/plaster pool (1992), attached spa with spillway, Pentair Superflo 1.5 HP pump, Smith booster pump for pool sweep, Pentair 2000 DE filter, Sta Rite Max-E-Therm 400 heater, Silencer Blower 2 HP for spa, Polaris 280 pool sweep.

  18. Back To Top    #18
    Divin Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Longview, Texas
    Posts
    4,926

    Re: Why Do Filter Pressure Gauges Go to 60 PSI?

    I got one of the gauges from TFtestkits just a few days ago. Here is a link to my review of it.
    I havent put it on my filter yet because I'm naturally lazy. Im waiting till its time to clean the cartridges, and will put it on then.


    Pressure Gauge

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael1 View Post
    The most I've seen on the gauge is 21.5 psi. That's why I thought a 30 psi gauge would be better suited to seeing the pressure at a glance, and would be more accurate, too.

    I appreciate everyone's input. Interesting reading!
    Divin Dave,
    IG Vinyl, 15' x 30', 3 1/2' - 6' deep, Oval, ~15K gal, Intelliclor IC40, Intelliflo VS pump, Clean and Clear 420 Filter, auto-fill-disabled, Retrofit LED Color Light, Dolphin Nautilus Robot, TF100 Test Kit, Taylor K1766 Salt Test Kit, Tftestkit Pressure Gauge.
    www.tftestkits.net Experience- it's what's learned just after you needed it most !!

  19. Back To Top    #19
    Pool Tool's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Western Chicago Area, IL
    Posts
    754

    Re: Why Do Filter Pressure Gauges Go to 60 PSI?

    Interesting note from Winters' website below. Again, I am still a proponent of using a 30# tft gauges.

    Range
    Pressure Range
    It is important to select a pressure range that is approximately twice the normal operating pressure of the media. The maximum operating pressure should not exceed 75% of the full scale range. If a gauge is not selected considering these criteria, it may result in fatigue of the Bourdon tube.
    16' x 32' (21100 gal), vinyl, 1.5 hp Hayward SuperPump,
    Tagelus TA60/60D Sand Filter, Raypak 399K Digital Heater, TF-100

  20. Back To Top    #20

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Moorpark, CA
    Posts
    171

    Re: Why Do Filter Pressure Gauges Go to 60 PSI?

    Quote Originally Posted by Pool Tool View Post
    Interesting note from Winters' website below. Again, I am still a proponent of using a 30# tft gauges.

    Range
    Pressure Range
    It is important to select a pressure range that is approximately twice the normal operating pressure of the media. The maximum operating pressure should not exceed 75% of the full scale range. If a gauge is not selected considering these criteria, it may result in fatigue of the Bourdon tube.
    I saw that, too. Since my plugged up, almost no flow pressure seems to be 22 psi or 73% of full scale, I figured I was safe. Also I don't plan on letting it get this high in the future, once I have everything I need to back flush (new house for me). I am hoping to back flush for the first time this weekend. I'm anxious to see what my "clean pressure" is.
    Michael

    20,000 gallon in-ground gunite/plaster pool (1992), attached spa with spillway, Pentair Superflo 1.5 HP pump, Smith booster pump for pool sweep, Pentair 2000 DE filter, Sta Rite Max-E-Therm 400 heater, Silencer Blower 2 HP for spa, Polaris 280 pool sweep.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •